A Coffee Break with Aesop part VI

in #art8 years ago (edited)

The Monkey and the Camel

During the time of the animal kingdom, the animals used to have periodic gatherings where they would discuss important questions and elect their kings.

Very often one or two animals would get in front of the crowd and provide some entertainment. Once the monkey gave a particularly inspired performance of dancing, which was greatly appreciated by all the animals who were there. They cheered and applauded him enthusiastically.

A camel was in the audience, and he felt rather envious. He would love to be so adored. This desire made him get up and take his place before the crowd. He began to dance, and he thought he was doing quite well. The audience however thought he looked ridiculous and started booing and calling him names. The camel was so embarrassed that he retired from the meeting and made his way back to the dessert, where he has stayed ever since.

Sort:  

Thank you for this. Yes, I am!

HAHAHA - this brought back memories - I use to love reading Aesops Tales as a child- always a message within the story. Thanks

I'm finding them to be rather meaningful for all of us here! A new use for the word "cryptic."

Do you know the story of Reynard?

No, but I have heard of it.

I dont understand this history :(

Hehe nice storry mate :)
Keep up the good work (y)

-Regards

The camel sounds like my wife.

jk honey :)

my mum use to read me these Aesop tales

Reminds me of how we are encouraged to be ourselves, but at the same time, never be different.

I love this. So potent and so many possible interpretations for such a brief tale. You see someone perform something well and instead of admiring their beauty and talent, you take it to a place of selfishness. This is definitely a trait I've seen in myself especially with those in similar endeavors to my own. The reality is no matter how good you are, there will be someone better. Further, if one wants to become great, it is not immediate. It takes practice and effort. Thanks for sharing and I look forward to more of these.

nice catch! not sure when you have the time for these :)

Not a catch. Public domain stories do not need permission to use. Not plagiarism.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98