You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #16 Animation - Recharging that First Love

in #art7 years ago

Oh god yes.
But sometimes, you get so tired, that even reaching a goal doesn't power you up again. I had a dream come true recently, watching the first movie I worked on with some of my oldest and best friends at home in Vienna. But I got back and barely a week later, the lethargy was back. It's not even that I don't enjoy my job anymore but I'm just... I'm just so tired.
Steemit is giving me an outlet at the moment, distracting me from the fact that I'm totally knackered all the time, getting my creative juices flowing with writing articles and drawing contests.
But the truth is, I think I'm just burnt out. I pushed my career forward really hard in the last 2 and a half years and I think I'm paying for it now.
I'll have to recharge my batteries soon too.

I think one big problem as wel though is the ridiculous hours in our industry. and the crunchtimes. and then in canada you get 10 paid vacation days a YEAR. 10. what the hell do I do with TEN MEASLY DAYS? Nothing, that's what I can do with 10 days.
And so you can't afford to take the necessary breaks your mind and your body and soul needs to keep balanced and function at full capacity.
Studios just suck their artists dry until there's nothing left, and then, who cares? because there's 10 eager, cheaper animation students to take their place.
.... maybe I'm just bitter. I need longer periods of time to recharge than other people do, and you can really feel that in this environment, where they just expect you to marathon work for forever, because aren't we animators cos it's our passion? don't we love doing nothing else in our lives? -.-

but I'm rambling. sorry.

basically: I feel ya bro, I feel ya.

Sort:  

True Story right there.

I guess we all need a break sometimes and it's true that some ppl take longer, and I've seen some constantly maintaining that spark of enthusiasm which is hard. They keep inspiring themselves everyday. Let me know when ur finally taking that LONGGGG break! Let's meet halfway around the world. :D

That'd be sick! if I can afford it.. haha!
no serioulsy tho, that'd be awesome. You should come to me Vienna. that's halfway sorta? You can meet @zeroooc too ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62864.56
ETH 2538.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93