You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Painting a mural for Woolworths shopping centre - Full Process

in #art6 years ago

Thanks Glen, it was pretty difficult to get a good photograph considering also I was working on this project from my garage, a fairly small space. It's always better to see these things in the flesh

You are certainly correct, there are many ways to interpret it but the compass and map was an inference to finding our path and being tied to false securities. I think Woolworths/Stocklands is only Australia based. Thanks for your comment.

Sort:  

Ah, okay, @jeremyrfk. Looks like Woolworths in Austraila and New Zealand is a supermarket chain. The one I'm thinking of was one of the original five and dime stores that started up in New York the latter part of the 1800s. Thus, the confusion, since both are spelled the same, and I imagined that Woolworth's could have gone all over, and might still be around in parts of it. Looks like the retail stores closed in 1997, and eventually became what is called Foot Locker, which basically sells shoes. :)

re: in the flesh

Well, Australia is on the list of places to go (though probably not any time soon). I'd love to see it person. Regardless of that, it's still an amazing work of art and an awesome accomplishment. :)

I was paying attention during the time lapse for any change in clothing but didn't notice it, so I guess you did it all in one day?

That's odd, perhaps the chain is connected to a wealthy family or simply a coincidence, We have foot locker here too.

Australia is a great place, lots of nice beaches, waterfalls etc..

Unfortunately it took me longer than a day, I did change a number of times through out into black shirts, I own many grey shirts too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54150.70
ETH 2268.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27