Painting Lake Camécuaro.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

A quick study. Painting Lake Camécuaro in mexico. The original photograph I used for rererence for this image was taken by Javier Eduardo Alvarez.

Lake Camécuaro  Javier Eduardo Alvarez Mexican lake..jpg

I kept this painting pretty close to the original image. The main focus of this study is to get a better understanding of painting landscapes, trees and lakes and how to get there through building up shapes and values.

I added a leaf to the bottom of the image causing ripples through the water. Maybe it's a metaphor.
I wanted to lead the eye from the bottom of the image up and along the lake. I have tried to create some stark contrast between the dark water and the red leaf against a predominately blue and green composition.

swamp.gif

Thanks for looking!

Sort:  

It's interesting that you started the picture in grey tone and little by little added the colours into it.
                       
Another great quick study, Jeremy :).

Thanks @scrawly! I find it simplifies figuring out the foundations of the painting and easier to see the tonal range in black and white. With strong foundations/values the rest of the smaller details and colours fall into place much easier.

It is pretty,reminds me a lot to a place I use to bathe in Summer

Thanks! @yidneth. Sounds like a great place to swim.

It is what I will miss the most in Autumn, from April till September I swim a lot in fresh waters but wearher just shifted, something to dream about now.

Yeah you really miss it. it's just starting to warm up here, i'm looking forward to swimming again and maybe surfing too.

Yes we are heading into moody autumn here. Will miss my Summer swims. Enjoy the warm weather


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Beautiful painting. I would love to see the photograph. I feel that your painting is more beautiful :) The leaf gives it a nice touch! Thank you for sharing!

Thank you! It's a pretty nice photograph, I increased the contrast a little but it's mostly the same. Lake Camécuaro  Javier Eduardo Alvarez Mexican lake..jpg

Really nice drawing, @jeremyrfk! I love the step by step ... it really shows how you treat light and shadows well :)

Thank you @veryspider! I hope it helps some people to get an idea of the process.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83