Drawing an album cover

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Brief outline of the steps I took to design an album cover for a progressive rock power trio and the album “Outlier”.

They wanted an artwork that was loosely inspired by the Amedee Ozenfant painting “Sisteron”: The image has this mysterious desert aesthetic that worked well for the record. The idea was to convey cool colours as if the sun is beginning to set with a sense of mystery shrouding the large structures.

Mockup_Digipack_1 isolated 2 22 2.jpg

Outlier concept sketches 2.jpg

Here are the initial concept sketches I proposed. They are really rough but the idea was to knock out as many as possible in a short time. Towards the end I was beginning to feel more comfortable and we ended up running with the last sketch.
.
.
.
Outlier concept sketches3 fuck you.jpg

The band still wasn't decided on which version to go for so I took 2 sketches to a near finished result.
It was difficult to convey a monolithic sense of scale but I left subtle cues and small details.

concept 5 deleted the others 2.jpg

template mockup 2 2.jpg

Mockup_Digipack_1 isolated 2 22.jpg

The album is not released yet, but you can check out one of their tracks here!

Thanks for looking!

Sort:  

Jeremy this is an awesome band album cover. I always like these kind of art when I look at music album, I used to spend a long time browsing at the music section at the shop, though these days I just use Spotify XD.        
                         
I like the step by step that you put in this blog, and I can understand why the band is having difficulties selecting which one they like the most because both of the versions are pretty good looking :).          
                       

Thank you! I still occasionally buy physical albums, just to own them!

Wow looks really good the artwork!

Thanks mate!

Hey man @jeremyrfk, I've seen that painting before, that "Sisteron" and I must say you've done a good job creating this from its reminiscence 👍. Beautiful art.

Congratulations @jeremyrfk! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hey jeremy, this is so cute, it's a good experiment, you've made an interesting and attractive choice to make it your art. I'm glad to see this kind of content on the platform, it's great...

The colors despite their rarity give it a unique touch, even the place where the cover has been raised this album is like post apocalyptic, I will have to listen to a little music, but kool.

I hope to see more of you around here bro. Greetings!

Thanks mate!

You did a great job designing the album cover and its nothing short of amazing. I love the design, the "deserty" feel, the cool color tunes, the little details.. Its just amazing.

Many thanks Audrey!

Great cover. I love the concept, very beautiful!

Thanks man!

Designing eight album cover for the album outlier really must have taken a whole lot of time isn't it?
The idea that the album cover would be inspired by Amedee Ozenfant painting “Sisteron" is really why I'm still think is it the album name? That makes for the desert aesthetics, seeing that it's definitely a rock song in the album.

However you did a splendid job with this, I love the mundane colours of the cover, the desert looks too cool I love the rock pattern I mean the mountain curves, it's a beautiful album cover. Well done

Thanks for the kind words!

Fantastic drawing!

Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61519.90
ETH 2995.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.45