Art : Human body

in #art6 years ago

So, a big part of my theme is human form, so now I am practicing drawing the body from images I find on Google or Pinterest.

Above is one of my attempts at drawing the natural, real body. I love the way some of the charcoal pencil came out and the white pencil highlights certain aspects. I struggled a lot with the scales and with the side profile, but I am still happy with this final result.

This above picture is copy from the artist Sylvie Guillot, who I am considering doing for one of my artist researches. I used watercolour, pens and pencil, the pen bled out a bit but I like it's highlight effect to the body. I am a bit disappointed that the colouring didn't come out too similar to the piece.

I could not find the artist who did the piece I copied but I found that it's from Angst Gallery, an online site. I did this one to show that I can use sketchy lines to draw the human body and don't necessarily need to do a neat figure.

Different positions are key to showing that you don't just stick to what you're comfortable with, if you wish to show interest you must show a broad range of positions that you are willing to do.

This one was another I struggled with, the face has an awkward angle to draw, so it took me a while to try perfect as best as I could.

This one above was done in class with a time limit of 10 minutes, and two pencils taped together. My teacher loves to get us out of our comfort zone in art and is keen to help us get as many points as we can.

This is an oil painting that I did in school, over around 6 lessons as it took me so long to achieve an accurate skin tone. Unfortunately, when I close my book, the oil paint sticks to the otherside which takes off a layer of oil.

I try to mix up the figures I draw, from males to females.

Even awkward positions to draw are a great test to build up skill.

And there's no need to do it once, it's great to repeat a sketch to try and improve your drawings again and again.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

these are so good! are you enjoying doing them?
life drawing classes are fun and good for this too!
really like the acrylic one :)

Thank you! I am enjoying doing them, and am still practicing. I'll have to try doing some life drawing, probably just friends or family sitting still anywhere.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97