As i was reading a post by another artist, it moved me to write this post.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

As I was reading a post by another artist, it hit a nerve inside me. Being an artist is definitely not an affordable venture. Many people do not realize how much supplies cost, models, or how much time is invested into a piece. I wish we lived in a society where people could do what they love and not worried about basic survival. Buckminster Fuller theorized that if we lived in such a society, you would not recognize the world in 20 years from all the advancement!

I love to be able to just give away my art to people who see a piece and have a strong emotional connection to it because isn't that what its all about. Artist job is to reflect the human condition and question the society they find themselves in. Unfortunately painting, even if it is my greatest love, I can not give it away. its not possible as we live in a culture where there is a disconnect in what is important verses what is fed to public as "important."

Steemit seems to me like a positive step in the right direction. The world needs something to start healing. We need real equality.

I hope I don't seem like I am ranting. I just want to start a real discussion. Love to hear your thoughts! looking above with black box.jpg

Sort:  

keep us posted Jefferson

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51