APOCALYPTIC SEA TURTLE ILLUSTRATION (An Entry to Drawing Contest: Save our Seas, by @jacinta.sevilla, plus bonus work process)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

So I saw a post from @jacinta.sevilla last week, regarding about a drawing contest (you can check it here: https://steemit.com/art/@jacinta.sevilla/plastic-drawing-contest-save-our-seas-join-and-win-15sbd-prizepool). This caught my attention because contest's theme. It's about doing something for our environment, specifically about our seas. For me, having this contest is very brilliant thanks to @jacinta.sevilla because this contest promotes awareness to the current problems we are facing right now particularly to increasing amount of waste (plastics in the ocean). Artists just not only able to produce quality artworks but also help bring social awareness.

So after how many days, yes! days! days of brainstorming, (we're quite busy, it's our finals, so busy in school) I've came up to this concept.

So here's my entry:



Save-the-sea-contest-final-2.png



This work took around 10 hours to complete, I'm happy I was able to manage my time wisely despite of the busy schedules. (Yes! time management is the key). The inspiration of this work is the movie Mad Max: Fury Road (a post apocalyptic film)

giphy.gif

"Apocalypse is an event involving destruction or damage on an awesome or catastrophic scale"
-wikipedia
.


I've used a "Sea Turtle" as a subject because they're often victims of wastes in the seas. I've came with this concept because of having the thought that, we always watch a film about "Apocalypse", where human's strives so hard for them to survive in the world of scarcity. So instead of humans experiencing a "Apocalypse" why not make or apply the theme to marine environment. For me it's a great illustration, that if we will continue to do our wrongdoings, throwing our own wastes everywhere (especially in all bodies of water), without thinking about the consequences, there's a great a chance that a "Apocalypse" will occur. What I mean, if we will to continue to our bad habit, we will going destroy our seas, our marine environment. There will be unbalance, which will led to scarcity, because there's no food that is left for every Marine species, because we already destroyed it. In the end, there will be a lost of production in food coming from our seas, we're all gonna pay for it, because one most of our food come from our seas. But it's not too late! we all can make a difference. We should not wait til that day will happen. But first, we must start within ourselves, if we want "change", we must change our self first.

So that's my personal insights, explanation why I did that Illustration. So as what I've wrote in my blog post title: here's the process I've with my work ( I will not go deeply with the explanation, because I have a blog post of step by step process and explain it in a detailed way on how to use the tools), you can check it here, (https://steemit.com/art/@jeeuuzz/how-to-make-your-own-self-profile-cute-avatar-step-by-step-process-my-very-first-blog-post)

STEP 1.
_ First, I conceptualize and make a rough sketch of my ideas, and imported on Adobe Illustrator CC
(don't mind the notifications, of the screenshots, pardon me)

S blog turtle 1.png

STEP 2.
Next, I trace every detail from my sketch, using my favorite tool, yeah my favorite, PEN TOOL!!! (of course, as always using Mouse, don't have a pen tablet, I'm poor)

(TIP JUST BE PATIENT GUYS, its the KEY! HAVE A PATIENCE).

S blog turtle 5.png

STEP 3.
I add, the base color of the sea turtle, if you have some questions how I did it, you can check my tutorial as I've mention earlier.

S blog turtle 6.png

STEP 4.
Then I start to add shadows give depth to the subject, I'm using Pentool with a fill. (adding shadows will make your subject pop)

S blog turtle 7.png

Working with it.........(you can always zoom for the detailed areas)

S blog turtle 10.png

STEP 5.

Next, I worked with details of my subject, like adding this plastic cap (replacing the turtle's eyes, to give a apocalyptic feels)

S blog turtle 14.png

Another, the turtle's flippers, correct me if I'm wrong 😅

S blog turtle 11.png

working on it... (just be creative guys, you can have a references if you have trouble on visualizing things, I always do that 🤗🤗🤗)

S blog turtle 12.png

S blog turtle 13.png

STEP 6.
Next is, I add more elements, like plastics to be inline with the theme. I've searched references from google and trace it.

S blog turtle 19.png

So I've adjusted the opacity so that the plastic will have a transparent effect. (see?)

S blog turtle 20.png

STEP 7.
One of my favorite part, adding highlights. (tip: Make sure that color of the highlight is brighter than your base color, just don't overdo it)

S blog turtle 15.png

S blog turtle 24.png

STEP 8.
Lastly, I think of a line or slogan, that I think is catchy and meaningful, then I ended up with this.

Save-the-sea-contest-final- 1.png

So after all the long hours, here's the result of my work. (clear resolution is in the beginning of post)

As you observed I put 3 hose of Oxygen mask, that is to signify that they desperately need us, they need our help, we can save them!


Save-the-sea-contest-final-2.jpg

Thank you guys! for visiting my blog post, if you think this post is something and will promote awareness, please upvote or share this to everyone ! Thanks

SPREAD LOVE AND POSITIVITY

14.jpg

And check this awesome bloggers ✍🖥💻

@jacintasevilla
@mikaelasinsuat4
@qyugmo
@ediah
@looserwin
@kothy

Please do support 🙏🙏🙏

@surpassinggoogle
@stateofthearts
@steemitachievers
@steemitfamilyph
@steemgigs

DQmU6EHRF2Pj2uHqT9hQtTHPVgmyBWgKoNeoPGWNB7Zo7Pj_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Ay sus jusmeo, naay mamaw diria! LOL Congratulations! Well done!

Hala, dli pd te oy. Naningkamot ra. Thank you, APPRECIATED IT MUCH. 😂🙌

Thank you Sir 😀😄😃

wow!! ang galing mo po !

Salamat kapatid, Godbless :)

wow nkakainspire to boss... :) Sana makagawa dn ako nto soon

Wow, nice salamat, happy ako na inspire kita. stay updated lang kapatid, magpopost pa ako ng tuturials.

salamat po :D I've followed you.. Continue nyo lang po. Galing :D

Nindota oi,,got to believe in magic kaayo panalo na

salamat amiga, dghang salamat Godbless you. :)


@stateofthearts

Thank you @jeeuuzz for sharing this great themed illustration. You were selected as one of our Top 3 Weekly Art Challenge features.

Wow, this is awesome, thank you @stateofthearts for recognizing my work.

truly amazing just wow!.. dude you're frickin awesome.. :D

thanks man!!! thanks for the appreciation!!!

its so amazing dude... I was overwhelmed :D . Need to see more of your art. :) Its really inspiring

Man, I could't paint anything like that! Don't even know to make artworks digitally. Your works are far more amazing than mine bro! Hope to see more of it!

Thanks Man, Naah, we all both have our own strengths, you can do something I can't do, vice versa! haha, Thanks anaways

Thanks for visiting guys! Have a nice day.

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @artzone. Follow @artzone to get a valuable upvote on your quality post!

My bad, I thought I already did. Pardon me, I just follow @artzone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66027.93
ETH 3529.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.16