Reel Action Pt 1. (Steemits first weekly fishing report!)

in #art8 years ago


(In the biz they call this a pair of keepers!)

Hey steemit, thanks for checking in! Today my girlfriend and I had a terrific time out on the Merrimack River in Newburyport MA, USA. We've spent weeks following the Striped Bass without any luck catching a keeper. We had caught a few small ones from the boat, which can be seen on an earlier post.

This time we decided to hit our local trading post to find some new lures. We love to try all different types of diving lures to see what we can find in varying depths of water. Well this particular trip we really lucked out. As we were looking at some lures gasping at how expensive they were. An older man said to us, "Yeah those ones are outrageously priced, try these ones, they are half the price and they're deadly!" Deadly, deadly, deadly he kept saying...he had to be right. Even though he told us he did a different type of fishing than us so I was skeptical but ended up getting them anyway.


(These are the lures he suggested. At 8.50$ a pop that's a bargain for this type of tackle. I would highly recommend them for any striped bass fisherman.)

My first cast with the new lure and I caught my first keeper of the year!!! I was extremely excited. I love eating striped bass. It's a very high protein fish that tastes like haddock, just a little more chewy. The law in MA for striped bass is one 28'' + bass per person. So I decided to keep it in my live well as I continued to fish (just in case I got a bigger one).

About five minutes later my girlfriend got an even bigger fish than me! Hers was only an inch longer but it weighed four pounds more, it was an awesome catch. She found it hiding out on top of a sand bar eating sand eels. (Which we found hundreds of when we gutted it!)

The rest of the trip was filled with nothing but shorts so I ended up keeping my first fish. The other fish still put up a good fight and we had a blast!


UNTIL I FOUND THIS BEAST OF A STRIPER!!!

(lol)

When we got home we cut up the fish into some nice striped bass filets and got cookin'! We cooked the bass in white wine & butter for 15 minutes, then topped it with Ritz cracker crumbs mixed with local honey & butter. Baked it for another five minutes and done! We paired it with grilled asparagus and had an awesome meal!


If your into fishing comment below, I'd love to read about your fishing adventures!!

Sort:  

Got a logo for you if you want it!

Great photos and post. I follow 6 fishing youtubers and they make videos of their catches and their fishing trips. I will be following to see more fish!!

Wow! Great catch! Both the fish and a girlfriend who loves fishing!

your reps up to 71. damn dude!

beautiful photos, the bad is that gave me Hunger. lol

OMG that looks sooooooo good lol

Feeling very bad for all these fishes. We all are a community of red fishes, minnows, ocras, dolphins, whales etc.. As a responsible community member, we should always strive for our community to grow. 😭

Nice fishes) and great dinner in the end of the day)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61159.70
ETH 2631.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63