Artwork of the Day - Never Afraid of Dragons

in #art6 years ago (edited)

neverafraidofdragons.jpg
Never Afraid of Dragons by Jay Taylor, mixed media artwork on heavyweight smooth cartridge paper.

Dragons as Friends and Allies

Were you one of those kids who was never afraid of dragons? I certainly was! To be perfectly honest, I always found human beings more intimidating than dragons, and I not-so-secretly longed to meet and befriend a dragon so he could protect me and watch over me, inspired, no doubt, by books like Kenneth Grahame's 'The Reluctant Dragon'.

I was ALWAYS on the side of the dragon in every fairytale, no matter how many villages he razed to the ground or how many knights he devoured. In fact, I think it's fair to say that I was pretty well obsessed with them for many years as a child and adolescent.

And now? Well, in my heart of hearts, I still secretly believe that one day I will meet and become buddies with one of these mythical creatures. And in the meantime, as I tell my feathered friends often, I have my little two-legged mini-dragons to hang out with 🐓💗


neverafraidofdragons-2.jpg


'Never Afraid of Dragons' - Media

This A4 sized artwork on paper was created using a variety of media including:

  • collaged handmade materials
  • acrylic paints
  • pencil
  • UniPin fineliner pens
  • Gel pens
  • a dragon (can you see him?)

The Freedom to Create

As many of you already know, I am never happier than when I'm creating 😊 It's one of life's greatest pleasures for me to see a piece developing and moving towards being something fascinating and unique. Sometimes I guide elements in certain directions having spotted 'something that looks like something', but more often, they guide me. The latter was the case with this piece, which evolved into what appears to me to be a fairytale world all of its own. Each and every artwork (and each and every element within each artwork) tells its own story. Often they are still unfolding years after a work is completed. And they always, always have a different story for everyone. Ah, the joy of raw abstraction...!

I don't have any WIP shots of this piece, so I'll show you a few detail shots of the finished work instead:

neverafraidofdragons-3.jpg

neverafraidofdragons-5.jpg

neverafraidofdragons-6.jpg

neverafraidofdragons-7.jpg


Investing in Original Art

If you've fallen in love with this painting, you may be interested to know that I have made it available to collectors in my store on Etsy. I'm also happy to liaise with investors in my work direct - payment accepted via PayPal or, of course, in Steem!

'Never Afraid of Dragons' is also available on 50+ print products by clicking on this link.


I hope you've enjoyed this post. As an independent, self-financing creative, and radically unschooling Mama, your support, kind-ness, and appreciation of my always-original content are most welcome!

With love,

Jay x

jay-painting-20180219-selfie.jpg

Sort:  

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

That is SUCH a great quote! Thanks for sharing, and for your support of my work <3

This is amazing! I love your style! And such attention to details, yet abstract! I was on dragons side as well - I have a big heart ❤️

@Rimicane, I would totally have guessed that about you :D And I'm really glad my work resonates with you - hearing that makes my big heart happy! 😊🙏

Blushing! 😇

You've been curied great job!! I sure have hogh hopes when i saw your art work..i felt so good hope you do as well...

Thank you so much, @kendallron! I am delighted to hear that this artwork brought you feelings of happiness - that means the world to me, it really does! Did you nominate my post to the Curie collective? If so, please know that you have brought JOY to my day and to my heart! 💜💜💜💜💜💜

And THANK YOU to all the Curie votes who have supported my work by upvoting this post - you people seriously rock! 👊😄

Yes i did 😍😍🤣🤣🤣👍🏻

Well, then, thank you again, @kendallron - you brightened a day which was otherwise riddled with pain-needing-transmutation, which just goes to show that the process actually works! It is an awesome thing to receive validation of that - and reading that you nominated this particular post because 'Never Afraid of Dragons' gave you hope and stimulated good feelings in you is the best validation I could ever receive, because in the process of transmuting my OWN pain, the results also brought joy to somebody else in the world. And THAT, my friend, is just about the best feeling EVER 😍

Hello @jaytaylor! I like your post and I think it is valuable for the photo community on Steemit! Your art is great!
Keep it up!
@photofriend - Supporting original photography on Steemit and fight against plagiarism.

So what is your mission? You just drop in to say that it is original work?!

@rimicane, perhaps @photofriend will share a bit about his or her approach and intent with us. I'd love to hear from somebody why they comment without upvoting, actually - it's always puzzled me! <3

Dear ladies,
My voting power is very small at the moment and I have to wait for 24hours to be able to give my 100% upvote. This post surely deserves it and I do not want to give anything less valuable!
I will be back for this!
To understand my missions, just check my intro or my blog.

Ah, I see :o) Well, thank you again for your support, and for explaining that to me - as I said, I've often wondered and I guess this one reason people comment and follow but don't upvote, at least some of the time :o) It's very kind of you to take the time to clarify that for me. I'm already following you, so I'll make sure I check out your mission here on Steemit - in fact, I will read your Into post right now! Thanks for sharing the link, and thank you again for your support of my work, which is very much appreciated, regardless the power or presence of your vote :o)

Thank you kindly!
I will be starting new project soon ( #photofriend The hash-tag!). It will run to support good quality posts (like yours) and reward them. It will also help to understand the others, what a ''good quality post'' is and help to increase the overall quality of Steemit posts. At least this is the idea!

Well, then, thank you very much for your support of my work. I'll check out your Blog...

I'm glad that it appeals to you :o) Thank you for your support x

What a beautiful artwork my dear ! I so love this turquoise and the touch of green...wonderful !^_^

Thank you, Barbara - it's always wonderful to hear from you and I am happy that this one appeals to you <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66093.99
ETH 3559.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13