For real though, Doctor Who?

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I have no clue what or who is Doctor Who.


Finished1.jpg

I have to admit I have never seen even a millisecond of any Doctor Who show or movie or whatever it is. Not sure if this is something I missed growing up, if it's on currently, or what. I do know that one of my college dorm mates eventually went on to have a Doctor Who themed wedding, but I only know that through facebook.

Also, I'm not an artist. I don't have any business entering this contest but I thought it would be a good stretch for me and after spending some time today drawing the Beginner level option, I really did enjoy the process!

So here's my process and drawing of Tardis from Doctor Who for the Doctor Who edition of Learn to Draw With Friends set up by @tonyr.


I started out by drawing some straight lines using an envelope from a bill that was within arm's reach:
IMG_9797.JPG

Then I made some more lines to connect and make the basic shape of the Tardis:
IMG_9798.JPG

Then on to some basic shapes for the doors and windows:
IMG_9799.JPG

Starting to color it in:
FullSizeRender.jpg

Then I decided it should be less wide, so I did some erasing and made it less wide:
IMG_9801.JPG

Back to coloring, and starting off some darker areas along the door:
IMG_9802.JPG

Shading:
IMG_9803.JPG

Some more shading and blurring of shading:
IMG_9805.JPG

Finished up the letters:
IMG_9806.JPG


And here's the final drawing:
JI6A3299.JPG

Finished 2.jpg


And for all my lefties out there, this one's for you:

FullSizeRender (2).jpg


Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this post, go ahead and check out my blog.


All content and photos by @jaymorebeet, taken on 7/18/2017 with an iPhone6s or a Canon EOS 7D Mark II.

Sort:  

good job.. now can you please draw the INSIDE ;-) he he

Hahah not sure I would know where to begin.... :)

i wonder if you know that the inside of the Tardis is VERY big, much bigger than the outside looks.. thats the joke.. if u dont know doctor who then you wouldnt know that.. ;-)

HAHAHAHA! This is awesome - here i was confused about why people were asking me about the INSIDE of this phone booth. Oh boy. I'm lost on so many cultural / media references....Thank you SO much for shedding light on this for me :) ::embarrassed::

oh dont be embarrassed.. dr who has a relatively small following.. its great because its simple, not all high tech special effects but just cozy characters and fun interesting stories..

Awesome awesome drawing!! I wish I could draw! And I love Doctor Who!! Thanks for sharing!!

Thanks @alovelymess! Apparently Doctor Who is a show that I should watch... :)

Haha! You did a god job on the tardis! I watched the original Dr. Who series when I was a teen in the 60's - way before your time, I guess!

Yeah. I wasn't even an idea yet in the 60s :) - is it worth the watch?

Not sure. Lol! It was back in the 60s, but there have been many different actors and series over the years, and I have not seen any of them! It's like Star Trek. To me the only true one is the original one. Dr. Who has a following like Star Trek and I know they have conventions in the UK!

Very cool! Really enjoyed the progression. Upvoted & ReSteemed!

Awesome! Thanks @lrich! Definitely out of my wheelhouse, but it was fun nonetheless :) The challenge is still open for a few more days so check out @tonyr 's feed if you're interested!!

haha, I don't have an artistic bone in my body!

Welp you never know until you try!!! :) juuust kidding :)

Interesting, I have these same Dr. Suess pencils.

Target?

All signs point to yes. :)

Cool post @jaymorebeet, with a really nice end result. And I like the little color splash from Dr. Suess Cat in the Hat pencil.

Great job!!! Up-voted and re-steemed.

Thanks so much @cognoscere!! It was the only sharp-ish pencil I could find on short order!

Well done @jaymorebeet .... well done 👍🏻

Thanks @beyondmountains! Let's see your entry.....!?!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64377.96
ETH 3500.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52