You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To NOT Be A Starving Artist...

in #art7 years ago

Definitely a most important convo for the modern artist. As an independent musician myself, many a ppl have told me "you basically have to become an expert in marketing.." The only issue I have with this type of thinking is: I didn't choose to become a musician, study music for 10+ years and hone my compositional craft so that I could become a marketer right... It's kind of a catch 22. I agree that you have a strong point and it works for some ppl. I realize that some may also look at my viewpoint and think, well that's the reality of the modern artist suck it up lol. Should it be...? I've always found that shifting my focus to the undesirable (in this case business and dealing with club owners or industry ppl or making contracts for film/tv/licensing etc) directly affects my ability to concentrate on continually creating good quality art, as well as my love for it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63793.25
ETH 3410.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59