What is it?!!? Name That Scroll!?!?!? Vincent Van Gogh Biography + Artwork!??! Part 1 of 8

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I acquired this weird scroll of sorts back in 2015 and I have been trying to find out exactly what it is ever since!!!

My parents purchased a house for a rental property a couple years back. I helped go thru the house and sort what the previous owner had left and this was probably the most interesting item we found!

This scroll (as I call it) contains VERY old French and sketches of paintings by Vincent Van Gogh and appears to be a biography and maybe dialogue like a play??

We have asked a few people what this thing is exactly and no one has been able to say what it is for sure!!!

The first 2 or 3 feet of this has been cut and taped back together but the rest of it is a continuous piece of paper. That tells me that this was intended to be a book maybe?!?!?!

SOOO...i'm asking for your help steemit!! What is it?! A story?! A play?! A biography? Fan Art?! Help me out here!!

I'm going to break this up into 8 parts because there are 86 pictures and that's just too much for one post!!

Below are 10 or so photos of the scroll PLEASE let me know if you know what this is!!!!!!!!

IMG_7268.jpg

IMG_7177.jpg

IMG_7178.jpg

IMG_7179.jpg

IMG_7180.jpg

IMG_7181.jpg

IMG_7182.jpg

IMG_7184.jpg

IMG_7185.jpg

IMG_7187.jpg

IMG_7188.jpg

Please let me know what you think this is in the comments!!!

All taken with a Canon 5D and 17-40L

Sort:  

Weird... but super cool, dude! I would definitely have someone who can read French take a look at it... Although I'm not quite sure if I know anyone that does. Haha! Let me know if you figure anything out! Looking forward to more pics of it!

Hopefully france will wake up soon and see this!!

Errr... OCR and throw paragraphs in google?

If that leads to nothing, make photos from all and create an imgur album. That community is a bunch of knowledgeable sleuths.

true...but i want to see what all these super smart steemians come up with... @val.halla & @JulieNBH speak some french and translated the first couple pages but i'm interested in the whole thing as a whole!!

It seems you may have to read Morel’s book, which refers to a manuscript by Noel Emile-Laurent, around exactly the time also listed on the author page.

Think you have a copy of a manuscript there.

Before that query, and with only the available photos available, I thought it read as a pitch to a possible maecenas for an upcoming project.

I actually am waiting for the rest. Not to translate but to read since Van Gogh was one of the earliest artists I explored as a kid. :)

I’ll be putting part two up soon!!

PM’ed you on Steemit.chat.

wow!!! helluva find. gorgeous.
why don't you get in touch with the Van Gogh foundation that runs the museum in Amsterdam. they have a treasure trove of un released and alternate stuff.

That’s an awesome idea!!!!

HAHA! Glad I thought of it . remember me if you make millions off of it !

That's awesome! Hopefully someone will be able to help you figure it out! I'll be watching for updates!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 65137.70
ETH 3198.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87