SUNDOWN IN THE DESERT - LANDSCAPE MODEL AND DIGITAL ART

in #art6 years ago

I have a very romanticized image of what a desert looks like because I have never really seen one except in movies and photos. I love the idea of bluffs with holes eroded through them by the passing of time so I created this end of day desert scene in my Bryce Landscape editor:



Bryce is fantastic for creating views with depth and definition and if you work with it you can actually create scenes that look so real it would be hard to tell they weren't a photograph. I was not trying for realism with this scene. I like my digital art to have an 'arty' look to it and I knew when I started creating this landscape I was going to alter it in my Akvis filter suites. Below you will find five different interpretations of the above scene with my favorite at the very bottom.


PASTELS ON TEXTURED PAPER



WATERCOLOR PAINT WET-ON-WET



COMIC FILTER WITH HEAVY EDGING



INTENSE OIL PAINT WITH LONG, HEAVY STROKES

MY FAVORITE


COLORED PENCIL SKETCH WITH DETAILED EDGING

Do you agree with my choice for favorite? If not what would your choice be? Leave a comment below with your answer.
Thank you all for taking time to view this post. It is always appreciated.




nysteem2.jpg


jap2.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00