"Vancouver- Love At First Sight. Leaving The Beautiful Prague." Six original paintings from the old continent.

in #art8 years ago

I was sitting in a busy pub in the heart of Old Prague when my buddy suddenly proclaimed: “You should go to Vancouver!”. I looked him square in the eye. “No way man, I just came from 17th month world trip, gimme a break” I replied lazily. Nevertheless after 3rd beer it seemed like a good idea.


Old Town at night, oil on canvas. Sold.

I went to the Canadian Embassy in Prague the next day. I dropped off all the papers few days later and forgot all about it. I enjoyed summer in a city I loved profoundly. City of hundred ancient towers and multiple times more pubs, bars and all sorts of shady underground venues. I had a good life.
I just turned 31, I lived alone in my own 3 bedroom apartment with tall ceilings in a great location. I also had a second apartment which I was renting.
I was working hard since I was a teenager, and I went through lots of uncommon adventures and hardships, struggling to make it on my own in the wide world which eventually paid back in sense of confidence, security and independence at a relatively early stage in my life. Despite the fact that I grew up in modest conditions of a family where money always seemed to be short, I was now collecting the harvest of my perseverance.


Kamzikova street, oil on canvas. Sold.

In summer 2010 I came back from a 17months world trip, feeling lighter inside. I did not pick up a job. I sold few art pieces for decent money, which came as a surprise, since I did not strive for it. Somehow, Universe conspired in my favor. I was at home only for two months when I took off for a month of beach bumming in Philippines.
Upon my return, summer in Europe was just starting and I enjoyed it to the fullest. I took my mountain bike for long rides around the city. Prague has everything that an avid (and bit crazy) mountain biker might wish for – wild nature, steep hills and medieval architecture with plenty of stairs and narrow cobble stones streets to shoot though. Obviously I also painted a lot. Naked Brazilian girls (http://bit.ly/2lKsNrM ), my first surreal snails and spots around the city I loved. I spent most of my evenings in Hany Bany or some other pub. If I was to change a pub every day, I could go to a different one for years. So I just gave it up and raised beer glasses in Hany Bany every other night.


Old town in Prague is simply stunning. This painting does not make it justice.

It was indeed in Hany Bany that my buddy told me to go to Vancouver, out of the blue. Little did I know that he changed my life forever. I was always pretty good at not over analyzing my intuition and just going for the gut feeling. And so, in September 2010, I left my easy and bountiful life in Prague behind, and got off at YVR with little money, one bag of clothes and big smile on my face.


This was my largest canvas of Prague. Sold two years ago to Slovakia.

I had no job, no fix place to stay, and no friends. That changed fast though. Second day I borrowed a construction hat and got hired in the funniest circumstances ever as a laborer on a construction site ( http://bit.ly/2kFsrCw ). I met James the kiwi guy. Then the new friends came in spades. Sure, most were just temporary students or odd jobs workers, but almost all of them nurtured a dream of throwing their anchor here. After a week or two I knew one thing: I wanted to live in Vancouver.

I could not really tell why. My life in Europe was simply great. All my friends and family was there. I was getting established as an artist and I could get a well paid job anytime. Why would I want to leave that behind and start from scratch, dragging my old bones across the ocean? I traveled half of this planet and never felt at peace anywhere. I never felt at home.


Ujezd under the full moon, oil on canvas. Sold.

Something in Vancouver got under my skin right away. The ocean, the mountains, the general politeness, fresh air, lack of traffic jams (at least back then) and tons of stunningly beautiful girls.
But I think what really got on me was the general vibe- people were happy. You could feel the happiness as a quiet background music on every step. It was palpable in almost every human and non-human encounter that came my way. It was a soft song on the seawall, beaches, bars on Main St, Commercial Dr. and downtown. It was the relaxedness of East side and Gastown, the easy smile of random strangers, the laid-backedness of drivers towards jay walkers, even the friendly approach of cops.
It was the energy of a content human being. Pulsating through back alleys and West End streets lined with cherry trees.


Coming towards Old Town Square, oil on canvas. Sold.

Looking back, I know that all this was meant to be. I know that the immense gift of new life in Vancouver was given to me just because I listened to Divine whisper talking through my heart, and because I was able to open my hand and let go of the comfort, and step into the unknown.
That is why all seemed to align for me- immigration process, becoming pro artist, meeting amazing powerful people, fundraising for charities, stepping on the path of Yoga, opening my heart further to a collective vision.

I know that I have a mission here. My mission will eventually fly far beyond Canada, over the oceans, reuniting the human family in our true values, beyond the imposed hierarchies. At that point, the mission will not be “mine” per say. It will be ours. I am just a humble servant to the service of the Whole.

Whatever happens, I have trust in Life. And humanity is an inseparable part of it.

lokah samastah sukhino bhavantu

Thank you for reading and for following me,
Blessings on your journey,

Much Love & Light,

Jan
@jankasparec

Receiving is direct result of giving. And art is just a tool for much higher purpose.

Sort:  

Hope you are well brother.
The prague paintings which you told me about.
I can remember nearly each place. The first one is really golden city prague.
Beautiful warm paintings and I love them all.
Greetings from Berlin

I'm ok brother, still in the ashram. I'm so happy you came over to my city to meet me. By then, I was just a visitor, just like you, so it was special for me. Sending love your way!

Much love back to you too. Much enlightment with the satsangs :-)

Very beautiful place

Very nice paintings, Jan.

Your paintings are so peaceful and beautiful!
And yes, Vancouver is a beautiful city.
Thanks for sharing.

It is very beautiful. And thank you for your story.

You are welcome and Thank you Madlen!

Very fine. Your post shows sold works only?

Hi @vixayam . This particular yes. Not intentionally, just all my Prague paintings sold and I was writing about Prague so I had no choice but to post sold ones. If you go through my older posts, I have different style now and not all that I post is sold. Or just check https://www.facebook.com/jankasparecpaintings/ . Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64432.28
ETH 2648.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78