Trust The Wisdom Of Your Hands. A Photo Documentary Of (Mandatory) Artist Labor.

in #art6 years ago

Today was not exactly a smooth sailing kinda day. The last February night and the first morning of March, although long anticipated, gave me almost no sleep.

canvas preparation (2) center.jpg

As I was staring in the ceiling of my dark room, listening to my heartbeat, thousands of things were going through my head. Many of them were quite unpleasant, some even very dark, and none of them particularly interested me. But they were still coming in an unending stream of thoughts that tortured me until morning hours. An oracle once told my friend that my mind and sleep is so crazy because I'm downloading messages for new paintings from the Universe. Well, thank you very much. Can I get a solid night of sleep at least once a week please?

Anyways, when you get out of bed and you feel like a beaten dog, the day usually does not end up on the brightest note. But there are exceptions. As much as my mind is screwed up at night, I trained it vigorously in order to beat fatigue or bad humor during the day with tricks that I learned over years of living with it.

One of the most potent methods, besides good sweaty session of yoga while listening to Solfegio frequencies and then a round of pranayama and meditation (which I just finished doing before I started writing this), is to make my hands busy with something manual and physically strenuous, that needs to be done anyways so that the following day I can reap the fruits of my labor and use it to have a more artistically creative day.

The old wisdom of natives knew something that was very much forgotten these days: your hands have wisdom that leads straight to the heart. Your hands have the power to bypass the sabotaging noise of your head. So learn to listen to your hands, because they will bring you peace and joy, and feeling of accomplishment as a bonus.

Today I followed the call of my hands and stretched couple large canvases.
Being an artist is much more than picking up the brush and painting. It's a whole craft that comes with the package that you need to learn, if you really take your calling seriously.

canvas preparation (2).JPG

Stretching an 8 footer with 12 duck canvas is a VERY PHYSICAL activity

canvas preparation (3).JPG

The long side is easier

canvas preparation (4).JPG

The smaller on of the two- Six footer

canvas preparation (5).JPG

Making the cut off line

canvas preparation (6).JPG

Pouring gesso. I only use a great quality one. It pays off

canvas preparation (7).JPG

It looks fun I know, but it's tricky

canvas preparation (8).JPG

canvas preparation (9).JPG
Checking the finish surface of the first gesso layer of the 8 footer

canvas preparation (10).JPG

Happy with the result. My hands and shoulders hurt a bit from the strain but I am super happy that the worst part is done. And most of all- my mind is calm finally!

canvas preparation (11).JPG

Drying until tomorrow, when I will apply second layer of Gesso and by the evening I can start painting, if I will have any time of the day left! It will be Friday night, and I might take my girl out instead ;)

I hope you liked the process of the canvas stretching.

Remember, listen to your hands when your head is giving you hard time. Your hands will lead you to the peace and joy of your heart. Chinta mani

<3

Thank you for reading,

Much Love to all!

Jan
follow @jankasparec

hanes facing buddha.jpg

website tag.jpg
facebook tag.jpg
instagram tag.jpg

Sort:  

Hey jan, thanks for sharing, i always get valuable tips whenever i read your blog, now i know what to do next time specially on those sleepless nights

Thanks a lot bro! Might be an idea for your man cave operations? :)

I have no idea how it is done before... thanks for sharing, I somehow have a glimpse what's happening in your world of painting and artistry.

Yeah most people don’t realize and I don’t blame them. I don’t know how to mine ETH for example 😁 thank you!

Fine art that is dear.......the photography is really appreciated....the activity is really good....carry on dear

I love your work, I find You on fb steemiz group. I must say I would love to have black white budda painting on my wall 😍😍😍
Black white or colors. Budda with blue and yellow sky 😍😍😍😍 wow amazing view.
.I'm impressed 😘

Thank you! I hope you get it one day! :)

Yes I think I need to look for something similar 🤔🤔
I have empty wall so time to get nice painting.
But it will be not same 🤗

Very helpful

Very helpful

The art work is good and a fantastic writer you are, upvoted

Wow you do some good work :)

Good job, resteemed.

Good post, good luck and have a good day :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62873.38
ETH 3037.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63