Starting My Biggest Winter Project Today. What It Takes To See Beyond Invisible. PART 1

in #art7 years ago

Today I started my largest project of this winter (or summer if you're in Southern hemisphere for that matter). I was tempted to say spring, because it might just as well not be finished before spring, but hell no, that's not gonna happen. I will absolutely kill this project (in the good meaning of the word).

hanes dream big 1 sm.jpg

You know, some people think that I'm just living my dream because I earn living by what I love- painting. They think that I just hang around the studio all day, dancing around with brushes, tending to my canvases like a happy bee. Unfortunately the reality is not that fabulous most of the time. Or at least I should say often!

I can only talk for myself, but I think I'm pretty safe when I say it in general
:

Artists have to overcome major obstacles every day. It's called resistance.

.

And nobody can write about it better than the Master guru Steven Pressfield himself. I cannot praise this man's book "The war of art" enough. It's a must read for all creative poeple:
.
Clipboard01.jpg

Ha, this being said, I have good news. I kicked the ass of the bitch named Resistance today. Not that she is not coming to try defeat me tomorrow. She shows up every day. But today, I was the winner and today is all I have. NOW is all I have. Tomorrow belongs to God.

I spent last 2 days stretching and priming a 8x6 feet canvas. That's a big size fellas and it takes certain skills to tackle even the task of preparing it for painting. I applied the last layer of gesso last night and when I came to studio this morning, it was dry, and all I did to finish the preps was to run a sand paper all over it to smooth it out even more.

You ain't gonna see any magic today. It takes a while to paint something like this in my style, which is not abstract or fast style. I do paint fast compared to most, but my style is too elaborate to cover 48 square feet in a day or two.

But I will be vulnerable and show you how such an undertaking begins.

It begins with Light...

:

IMG_1999.JPG

I sometimes put the primary intention into a word and write in on canvas before I start. My goal for this painting is obvious: to bring light. And you will see in the end what I meant.

IMG_2006.jpg

Right in the first layer. Using big paint brush not really meant for artistic painting :)

IMG_2007 res.jpg

And this is as far as I got today. It did not take me more than an hour or two, but I can't get further at this point. Why? Tricks of oil paint, long story folks!

What makes an artist an artist is that he/she has a vision that is invisible to others. He has the capacity to overcome the initial resistance and see the work of beauty that the initial layers do not show yet! And that is precisely one of my daily battles against resistance, only one of many: persisting with my brush although it looks nothing but messy and the final result seems light years away, if arriving at all! To win such a battle is the most intoxicating feeling in the world!

.

Great example of such a victory is here below.

WHEN THIS:

pointing finger.jpg
img 02.jpg
.

TURNS INTO THIS:

pointing finger.jpg
gaia reborn 2016 logo resized.jpg

Worth the battle? Indeed! One more from Pressfield before I call it off? Indeed!
:
Clipboard01.jpg

This, my dear fellow Steemians, should give you a pause for thought.

Thanks for reading, upvoting, commenting and resteeming!

Much Love to all!

Jan
Follow @jankasparec

hanes eternity (2).jpg

Sort:  

So happy to hear that today you killed the resistance before the end of the day! You made it. So proud of you! Can't wait to see the new painting with your brushes which can create many and many miracles ❤️

I am hoping this one will be my best to date. But then, I cherish that hope with every new large painting I begin! :) That's what it's like to be a big dreamer and go after it! :) Thank you Glady!

The difference between the 2 pictures where you say this turns into this is incredible. One would not imagine that they are the same painting at different stages of completion. I could not imagine having the blueprint for such a complicated piece of art stored in your mind. Parts of it remind me of the type of work that Salvador Dali painted. Absolutely incredible. Do you have a name for that painting? I’d love to know. If you have already sold it then I imagine the new owner would be looking at it right now thinking how lucky they were to come into possession of such an amazing work of art. Simply mind boggling. Thanks for sharing

@markkennard bro, thanks for your comment. That painting is the largest I have done to this point and it hangs in Floathouse in Gastown Vancouver (Gastown is the oldest and quite trendy part of Vancouver downtwn). Floathouse did not acquire it though, they just borrow it from me. It's still for sale although I want $100k for it. Any pictures do no not make it justice, I have no idea how I delivered this, without any sketches, just throw it right on canvas. And I saw it moving (the waterfalls on it) couple times and I was not alone (I kid you not), when I look at it long enough. I am in no rush to sell. I truly love this painting and when I buy a house I will put it there. Over time, as my artist name grows even more, I'll be asking $1M. Some might think I am crazy, but most people live in small boxes of their small programmed minds. I'm not like that. And honestly I don't spend 1 second a day thinking about it. It's not about money for me at all. It doesn't even belong to me, I was just lucky to be able to channel the message from Universe. If I ever sell it, money will be used for benefit of others too. Thank you!

I believe one day you probably would be able to command $1mil. It’s up there with the best in my opinion and has a lot more work and detail than most of the great paintings of past centuries which are considered to be humanity’s best art. I’d love to have this hanging on my wall. I hope this isn’t offensive to you but have you ever thought of selling framed prints of this painting. I reckon they’d sell like hot cakes and $100,000 could be an easy target that way. At $100 a print you’d only need to sell 1000 of them and you’d be there. Do that 10 times and there’s your cool million.

Mark my man, I don't do much of printing anymore. I changed my mind about it. I just sold last print that I did on canvas of my "Unity" painting and I ain't doing more unless a special order for special person. I tell people to save for original or talk to me! I make ways were I see genuine love and passion! ON that note, if you're considering to have my art, I recommend to get in touch withe me via Zuckenshit book (facebook, you will find me easy, would not be surprised if we have friends in common :)) or via my website http://jankasparec.com/ and let's talk bro! Thanks a lot!

I’m not a big Facebook user. I much prefer spending the little time I have on Steemit. I’ve subscribed to your website though and have put a link to it on my real estate business page. Mark Kennard, Real Estate, Oamaru

Ok awesome thanks! I don't send much newsletters. like one a month if even :) But you can always email me at [email protected] or using the contact form at my website! Thanks Mark!

No need for thanks, I’ve also shared it on my personal page. I don’t have many friends as when I had my back injury and was bedridden for quite a while, my friends deserted me because I could no longer keep up with them or meet them at the pub. The friends I have on Facebook are mainly my work colleagues who are also real estate agents so maybe some of them will share the post to their followers who are also either real estate agents or buyers and sellers. I’ll see if the place I work is also willing to post it on their Facebook page as they have about 6000 followers. Art goes in homes so their followers maybe interested in your work to adorn the walls of the new homes they buy. I’ll do my best to try and get it on the Ljhooker oamaru page.

Fantastic. If you high quality images, don't hesitate to reach out! Many thanks!

You have a way of giving life to your art. Beautiful, just beautiful. One thing I love about art is how something beautiful can be made out of anything, just anything.

Thanks Jamie!

Bit confuse. So the last picture is still incomplete one?

Last of what Ace? I think if you read my post it would make sense to you bro. I shared first three photos of day 1 of my biggest winter project and my victory of the battle of the day, not competition. Just day 1. I very clearly stated that you can't finish a 8 feet canvas in one day. Then I said: "Great example of such a victory is here below, when this turns into this...." and shared the painting from 2 years ago to show how can day 1 progress turn into something totally different weeks later.

Better now? :) Thanks for your comment bro!

I guess so. Thanks for the reply

anyways I know art is confusing. I am myself totally lost in it :D Have a great day @ace108!

wow.
its obviously a masterpiece. <3

my dream big too sir @jan very nice photography dear

This is great article and wonderful artwork sir. it is really work
Thanks this post @jankasparec
Have a great day

Your work is really incredible. Posts like these inspire me to give more. Thank you...

Happy to hear that @hegaby ! Thank you!

outstanding art @jankasparec . thanks for sharing your drawing photography.

guys be more original on your comments. It's the same copy paste each time for you and few others :)

really beautifull art @jan i love your art dear thanks for shareing keep it up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57971.70
ETH 2448.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34