"Primary Snail" original art. Story Of My Homeless Era, Unwanted Fatherhood and Dead Kennedy

in #art7 years ago

I decided I'll share one last batch of early “snail” paintings with you. Rewind back to 2011-12. I got my first studio in Vancouver, I was homeless and out to conquer this city. These were good times.


Primary snail. Even now I like incorporating geometric shapes in my spiritual art.

To be honest I was homeless only for a short period of time. When the girl at whose apartment I was staying kicked me out. I don't blame her one least bit. After a month of dating she started to talk about having kids. All I was thinking about is how to make it as an artist. She cooked dinners for me and I always showed up late, because I was busy painting. I just got my first studio ever. Excitement was nearly as high as when I got my first bike when I was 3.
It was a dark hole with no windows and dump air. It was closed for 20 years before I got it. The pile of dust on the water pipes hanging from the ceiling was an inch thick. I loved that place. And that's where I ended up sleeping, with no natural light or washroom, after my “ex-date” finished throwing out all my stuff from her car on the parking ground in front of the studio. She executed the whole thing quite ceremoniously, with merciless expression fit for some Russian classic (Dostoevsky?), akin to some exorcising ritual. I had to admit- she had style. The devil was out and the devil was happy as a bee in spring time.


"Fuck'em and their law!" This t-shirt says a lot about who I was 6 years ago:)

During that time I painted a lot. Obviously. I just became full time artist, and I worked 12hours a day 7 days a week. Nobody wanted me to become father anymore, so I poured all my shakti in paintings of all sorts- landscapes, architecture scenes from the city back-alleys, whole series of tulips, jungle stuff and some “square” surrealism. I even painted Kennedy with bloody bullet holes on a backdrop of American flag. And of course, I painted snails. I probably missed the female intimacy, which would make sense. Freud knew it, the sick mofo, and if you don't know what I'm talking about, just read here:
https://steemit.com/art/@jankasparec/space-sakura-original-art-from-freudian-vagina-to-mindfulness


I called this one "Changing Snail"

Remembering those days makes me smile. It also makes me super grateful. I got so far since then. But not this morning. I woke up at 7am and started writing this. I am still lying on my thin hard mattress on the floor, in a holy place, an ashram. Indian music and relentless banter of crows fills my room. It's half past seven now and sunshine is piercing the lazy fog above the canopy of palm trees and river canal. It is time to stretch my aching legs, and pour a fresh fruit juice down my parched throat.

Thank you for reading. I enjoyed sharing this sacred moment with you.

Much Love,
Jan

Thank you for following @jankasparec

Notice the Kennedy on my left. And yeah I dressed up for this pic. Definitely not my usual studio attire back then.

Sort:  

Your paintings are awesome. Loved your art

You are very talented, go snails;)

Very beautiful! Thanks for sharing this.

Great paintings! Also dating someone for a month and forcing a person to become a parent seems crazy. Dodged a bullet there :)

Hello @jankasparec
You have been added to @artlink, an account on Steemit dedicated to share and promote new and aspiring artist on the platform just like yourself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14