Plein-Air Paintings That Heal Me, original art. Nature/Camping/Okanagan. Episode I - 2013

in #art7 years ago

Due to positive feedback I decided to share my complete portfolio of outside paintings. It is also my first blog where I offer paintings for Steem. My first post about how I heal my wounds by solo camping/painting in nature seemed to hit the sweet spot, so I will publish my “open-air” paintings year by year, starting with 2013.

Okanagan plein air 2.JPG

If you missed my post, where I tell the story how I escape to nature every year, to face my inner demons and pay tribute to breathtaking nature in Okanagan, you can read it here:
https://steemit.com/art/@jankasparec/why-i-sleep-in-forest-alone-healing-and-painting-in-nature-tribute-to-okanagan

IMG_2334.JPG
The above painting in progress

The reason I chose Okanagan is simple: it's dry and hot in summer, and it's just very beautiful. Okanagan region of British Columbia is famous for it's wineries, fruit trees plantations and Okanagan Lake (and probably other stuff I know nothing about).
Cherry, apricot, peach and apple picking attracts hundreds of season workers every year. I pick a few too, for myself, but don't tell anyone. I mostly buy them in the stands by the road, but sometimes you just can't resist. Bad habits from childhood :)

Okanagan plein air 5.JPG
I had good times sitting on the "bridge to nowhere" and gazing at the horizon.
2.jpg
Finishing this morning's work.

I started painting plein-air around 2006 in Prague. You can see my old works from that time here. There is some cool architecture work, most of them are sold, but hit me a line if you see one you like, you never know:
https://steemit.com/art/@jankasparec/how-i-found-my-dream-and-made-it-reality-disclosure-of-my-early-art

Okanagan plein air 6 logo.jpg
This one is sold

Plein-air comes from French. It literally means “full-air”, meaning painting outside whatever is in your chosen field of vision (you need a field easel and portable palette), and aiming for “a la prima” finish, which means- finish the painting in one session, since the light changes fast as the sun moves across the sky, and with that everything changes- shadows, colors, even objects (clouds...), so you don't wanna lie too much and get it done as fast as you can. And that's the whole beauty of plein-air painting. It's very expressionist. It's fluid, it's vivid, it's hard to do, it's merciless and eliminates wanna-be artists right away. You don't have days in your studio staring at a 2D photo on a laptop screen, correcting one mistake 5 times. No, you got whole open world in front of you to squeeze on a little square canvas and you gotta bust your ass and capture the essence of it, not every detail.

Okanagan plein air 1.JPG

Finished result above, artist in plein-efforts below :)

1.jpg

That was hard for me in the beginning. Now I usually execute a 20 inch painting in 1-3 hours. Oil painting is bit more complex to do then acrylic, cause it doesn't dry fast and you need oil medium to dilute it. Acrylics just need water and it dries super fast. Washing your brushes is another hassle you save yourself if you paint acrylic. I still love oil the best and I don't even try to wash anything when I am out for 3-4 days. I just use the same brushes, keeping them soaked in oil as much as I can so they don't try. It's a dirty business, but the light and shine on the finished painting is worth it. Da Vinci knew what he was doing!

3.jpg
In the opposite order:)

Okanagan plein air 4.JPG

On a good camping day, I do 2 paintings a day. I like to chill by the fire and cook my food and swim naked in a lake and meditate while ants crawl all over me, not only stand in front of the easel. One in the AM, one in the PM is good enough and time well spent. In 2013, I only stayed 3 days, so these 6 paintings are what came out of that trip. I still have them, besides the one that I mention as sold. They are all oil on canvas.
Price is much lower than my studio works ($2-$20k), only around $600. I accept steem for my work now. Halleluiah! You do the math please, I gotta paint. Thank you! :)

Okanagan plein air 3.JPG

Thank you for reading and for upvoting, and most of all – for liking my art!!<3

Follow @jankasparec for bad-ass originals to come!

Final wrap up of a successful camping/painting trip. Evening is kicking in. I love driving at night, cause I can go 220km/h :)

5.jpg

Sort:  

Fabulous paintings. Plein air must be very relaxing too alone in nature, it has so much to offer. Looking forward to all of your posts.

Thank you @katdvine. Yup more coming!

Your paintings can heal so many people's heart. That's something we don't have to doubt. Thank you for the post @jankasparec. Much love.

@jbouchard12 there you go brother!

Upvoted and resteemed :-) Greetings from Berlin.

Thanks brother Jo! Love from Vancouver @welovesteemit ! ;)

You are very welcome. Much love back from Berlin :-)

Your paintings are lovely! I seems so enjoyable to paint plein-air. I would love to do it someday :)
Keep up your wonderful work

thank you @artwithflo . Yes I will be posting more. May the creativity flow through you too!

That's great, I'll be following you :)

Same here, following you now. You got nice blog fellow artist! :)

Thanks! It's great to meet other artists here on Steemit :)

Fantastic, great to see, thanks for sharing your work!

Do you feel free? I felt free in your story. Enjoyed. :) @jankasparec

You nailed it. Those are times of freedom. Staring into fire after diving into cold river even more :) Thanks @bontonstory !

Awsome paintings. Can heal ur soul :0) peaceful. Thx for sharing. Upvoted

Thank you @saffisara. Following you now. Much Love!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76