"Meditating Shiva", original oil painting. Spirit of a Running Horse.

in #art6 years ago

In my latest blog I promised you two horse paintings. The second one is connected to the meditating Shiva.

Shiva meditating center logo.jpg

Shiva is the destroyer/ transformer of the Universe, one of the Great Trinity together with Brahma and Vishnu. Shiva is a Supreme Being; Lord of Meditation, arts, yoga, dance, Supreme destroyer of evil and Lord of the devas.

The destroyer part of Shiva is represented by the volcanoes in the painting, which bring destruction but which also form new land upon which new things come to birth, out of the ashes of the old dying world.

The free spirit of Shiva is represented by the running horse, which is running on the hot lava from the volcanoes, unharmed.

Somehow, I always felt that there is lots of peace and stillness contained within movement. That is why meditation and a running horse seem very close to each other, at least to me.

The flowers growing at the bottom left corner of the painting are Datura flowers. The datura is a highly poisonous plant that is one of the flower traditionally offered in worship to Shiva. The underlying meaning in offering these flowers to Shiva is asking him to take away the evil / bad / jealousy , the poison in us and bless us with Enlightenment.

It is noteworthy that I completed this large 6 feet tall oil painting in less than a week. Actually in 4 days, which is a proof to me that I was in easy flow, delivering a message that was beyond my busy mind or ego.

Shiva meditating logo.jpg

If you look well you might notice the outline of a "Dancing Shiva" in the background, which is probably the most common, four handed depiction of this deity.

Next time I will show you step by step process.

I hope you enjoyed this little introduction of Shiva and my depiction of him.

Thank you for your upvotes and comments,

Much Love,

Jan
follow @jankasparec

hanes shiva 2.jpg

hanes shiva 3.jpg

Sort:  

Beautiful and special as always ;)) Keep up the positivity Jan...

Hi Damir, thanks a lot! Good to hear from you!

Wow...m sooo cute and lovely art...my dear friend @jankasparec

Thank you @moniroy ! Happy to see you progress on Steemit. You deserve it!

Wow! Totally amazing! I love your works !! <3

Very beautiful my friend and such meaning to the painting. Thank you for sharing your artistry.

Stunning technique and evocative imagery

Absolutely gorgeous, your use of color is so inspiring :) I included this post in my weekly curation Ocean of Art!

This post has been resteemed from MSP3K courtesy of @juliakponsford from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Nice work

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60828.34
ETH 2917.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38