"Le Petit Prince" 7 step painting process. My Latest Oil Painting Inspired By Exupery's Classic

in #art7 years ago

To be honest I can't remember exactly what the novella "Le Petit Prince" by Antoine de Saint-Exupery was about. I just know that I loved it and that it was filled with hidden meaning, very suitable for adults just as much as for kids.

Le petit prince center.jpg
Center detail of my latest painting.

Did you know that Little Prince is one of the most sold and translated books in history? I had no idea until I looked up some details about Exupery in Wikipedia today. But I'm not surprised. We all love children stories with meaning. They remind us of our dreams and our innocence.

little p.jpg
The original cover of the book from the 40 ies, with drawings of the author. Bit about Exupery (source Wikipedia): Saint-Exupéry was a successful commercial pilot before World War II, working airmail routes in Europe, Africa and South America. At the outbreak of war, he joined the French Air Force (Armée de l'Air), flying reconnaissance missions until France's armistice with Germany in 1940. After being demobilised from the French Air Force, he travelled to the United States to persuade its government to enter the war against Nazi Germany. Following a 27-month hiatus in North America, during which he wrote three of his most important works, he joined the Free French Air Force in North Africa, although he was far past the maximum age for such pilots and in declining health. He disappeared over the Mediterranean on a reconnaissance mission in July 1944, and is believed to have died at that time.

Other book that could be easily adored by children but carries a beautiful message for any age group, is "The Alchemyst" from Paolo Coelho. I bet many of you read this one too. I read most of Coelho's book, when I was going through my "Coelho" period...or should I call it my "Santiago" period :) (Santiago was the shepherd and main character in the story)

alchemyst.jpg
Source: Google image search.

That was the time when I was slaving in all sorts of job that gave me $ and almost no satisfaction. Reading the quotes from The Alchemyst, I understand why it was so relevant to me in that time: “And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.” .....or: “There is only one thing that makes a dream impossible to achieve: the fear of failure.” ...... this beautiful one: “The secret of life, though, is to fall seven times and to get up eight times.”

And in that mood I set out to paint another painting inspired by Little Prince. Yes it is not my first one. The first one was that of Little Prince on the planet of Tulips, and that was back in 2010. It actually sold all the way to Europe shortly after I moved to Canada, which was surprising for me, since I did not like the painting very much. I guess the buyer had a sentimental connection with Little Prince, which is understandable.

fant. Little Prince.jpg

My first painting of Little Prince, this time on the planet of tulips. 7 years old painting, making me happy how much I progressed with my skills since then. Sold to private collector to Europe.

So here you go, I documented the step by step process for you, since you guys seems to like it. I like to too. It makes me realize that even pretty flower can grow out of pile of crap :)

little prince process 1.JPG

Hey I sketched an elephant! It didn't fit in my canvas though:)

little prince process 2.JPG

Glad to cover the white. Not that it looks nice(r) at this point...

little prince process 3.JPG

Far far away, where am I headed?

little prince process 4.JPG

Ok some sorts of "planet" is born.

little prince process 5.JPG

Proportions are adjusted and settled. Next step- details and birth of Little Prince and his rose.

little prince process 6.JPG

Earth and Little prince is born. But I need to un-blue it little bit. So I'll make the Earth more like a desert. Sorry folks, Little prince needs a reason to be sad:)

little prince process 7.JPG
These colors are better, including the clouds.

The final result is here below. I quite like it actually. It's got a mystical touch to it. And I decided to call the elephant The Galactic Mother.

Le petit prince logo.jpg
Oil on 36x48 inches canvas

And so my latest painting is called "The Little Prince meeting the Galactic Mother".
I'm happy he's got his rose with him. It's always better to have a companion on galactic journeys.

Thank you for reading and for upvoting,

Much Love,

Jan
follow @jankasparec

P.S. This is the first time that I left part of the canvas "unfinished" (Bottom section) and also the first time that I wrote the name of the character on the painting. I like it. There's a first time to everything I guess!

! hanes petit prince 3.jpg

Sort:  

I'm really impressed by this painting and I love it . It is really powerful and amazing! by the way, The book 'The Alchemist' you mentioned inspired me a lot when I was a teenager who was lost and losing the passion in life. Nice post! upvoted and resteemed <3 Much love!

Thanks love, much appreciated @gladysmak

And another one blows my mind. This one is an all time fave for sure. The galactic mother's presence.. the awe and wonder.. surrender.. pure bliss! Incredible. Im not familiar with The Little Prince, but The Alchemist is a must read. The story of Santiago is so lovely and inspiring. Thanks for this reminder of the gentle power within. Love this one so much.

Hi Jaime. That's so nice to hear! I'm really happy you like it so much! It's quite special right? I like the unfinished part and the name of the Little Prince on there, also the mother of course. Crossing fingers that it lands on your wall @jaimelee ;)

Aw thanks Jan, me too. Fingers crossed and toes crossed. ;)

Oh yes, and 100% Re-Steemed :) I want it on my wall very badly though. It's so magical. A girl can dream... but I am so very happy with my recent purchase btw. It seriously raises the vibration of the room and feels like little piece of heaven. ART CAN HEAL THE SOUL! Thank you for what you do!

dude...you very good in your art work. you won my admiration. thanks for sharing this and keep it up!

thank you @kenhudoy, I'm honored to hear that!

always welcome and keep it up.
Do also check my work which am sur some may interest you ...as your comment is appreciated...
thanks

These are awesome paintings. Good combination of colors.

Awesome. Do you sell your stuff online? Amazing colors.

You can see my stuff online, but there is no "buy" button. You can contact me (info in my bio here: facebook page or www.jankasparec.com) and inquire about a concrete piece. Friendly disclaimer, since some people think I'm a hobby artist with no expenses or other source of income: my art does not sell in the hundreds. Definitely thousands. Just saying to save time, no bad vibe intended. Thanks a lot @thedonfreeman

Great photos, thanks for sharing!

The colour and depth are beautiful in this painting, Jan. Thanks for sharing the stages too. It gives a glimpse into your creative thought processes.

Thank you @rbennett . Appreciate your time and comment

Beautiful. Full 100% and resteemed :-)

Thanks brother Jochen. Much Love to Berlin! hope to chat soon!

really nice work, i love the concept!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54166.76
ETH 2272.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34