"DISCO SNAIL" is Here! A Painting That Tells The Untold Story Of Artist's LifesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art8 years ago

It's weekend! So here comes the Disco snail!

This painting is totally not my usual style. But as an artist, I have to listen to the muse, whatever it chooses to bring. Otherwise I'm just a petty manipulator, censoring the “fake” news :)

Disco snail is an oil on 48 inches long canvas that I stretched with my own hands. The truth is- the painting was not called Disco Snail at all. It was called “In Flagranti” -coming from latin “caught in the act” of doing something you don't really want to be caught at...due to the story that is depicted in the painting (about that later).

But then something happened. I was part of a massive group art show in Vancouver during which tons of people walked through my studio at 1000 Parker Street ( http://culturecrawl.ca/ ). In Flagranti Snail, still unaware of his soon to come baptism, caught lots of attention from lots of folks. Simply because it was so different from the rest of my work. Also the painting style is quite catchy- rays of light coming from a snail, contrasting the dark room with naked woman and a small painter snail. It was just screaming to be noticed!

So what happened is this- a random guy walks in my studio, totally unaware of my presence (disposition of my studio enables me to see while not being seen right away), stops in his tracks in front of the In Flagranti Snail and in state of pure amazement, looking as if he just found the Holy Grail, utters the magic words: Disco Snail.
It totally got me on my knees (that's when he turned his head and noticed me), because his face bore this authentic devout, almost heavenly-minded expression! Oh God, in no time we were both laughing so hard!

But then something even better happened. Some time later, another group of people came in, and one of them stops in his steps as if he was smitten by God's thunderbolt, and literally shouts out- God Damnit this is Disco Snail!
Needless to say, I exploded. And of course I asked him- did anybody tell you about this painting? The guy swears to me that it's the first time he put his feet in this building, and he has never heard of Disco snail. It just came to his mind in a flash as he looked at it!
And that's how Disco Snail was officially baptized, and lost his old name, to follow the will of Allah, or whatever you guys call the big Divine Mama.

My buddy Victor, owner of a restaurant in Olympic Village, bought the Disco Snail for his private collection. The painting hanging behind him is another piece of my art (quite different style heh), this one is for his restaurant.

Now about the painting itself. If I was to get one steem for each time I was asked what's the scene in the painting exactly about, I'd make some whales here look like mackerels. Haha, true story- people are just so curious when they see something that engages them and that they can't put quite put the finger on right off the bat. I love humans who love art!!

It's Friday, it's sunny, and I'm in a good mood. So I'll give you few hints. Look well! The big snail with mad rays coming out of him is standing in the entrance door to what looks like a room where lots of art is made. We could even call it an improvised art studio. The floor is littered by sketches of naked women, and paintings of enticing female curves are all over the walls.

The painting on the easel, looks like the woman who is standing naked in the middle of the studio. The little snail next to her is all freaked out by the unexpected entry of the big snail! He even dropped his brushes poor little guy. Obviously he is the Painter Snail. But the big guy is not happy. He sees his girlfriend naked in some cute little artist's studio, and the bed (supposedly only for posing purposes) is so messy.

You get the story. The message is- us, innocent artists, are often the object of rage of jealous boyfriends! It's a tough job, but somebody's gotta do it :D

Snailus invictus! :)

Much Love to all of you and have an amazing weekend!

Peace,
Jan

P.S. I love the word “Disco”. It's so frikin old school, I hope it never disappears !

Follow my journey at @jankasparec
100% Steem, 100% Love

Be Disco Today!

Sort:  

Awesome, I want to see Space Snail ;)

This one is called "Space Sakura". I have couple more "in space" type.

I like it mate, you've got a great style

Hey @smileyjim how did you know I painted a space snail??? Damnit you guys have crystal ball or somethin :D I did one 4 years ago. It sold all the way to Germany :) Thanks for your support bro!

lol why would anyone not want to paint a space snail?

Mind blowing. I love it :-)
Resteemed :-)

Thanks bro! So untypical right? :) I should paint another snail, maybe some Retro snail :)

Yes that is not typical , it so cool :-) Totally adorable the snail.
Good idea the retro snail.lol.

Amazing artwork! I'd like to have a few around the house :D

Thanks a lot Kevin! That is always a possibility. I ship worldwide, on big orders I sometimes even deliver in person. Thank you for your support, much appreciated @kevinwong . Following you now.

This one really made me smile. Tweeted on @200SocialMedia

https://twitter.com/200SocialMedia/status/820262994647121924

200SocialMedia $200 Social tweeted @ 14 Jan 2017 - 13:35 UTC

"DISCO SNAIL" is Here! The Untold Story Of an Artist's Life By @JanKasparecArt on @Steemit #Arttwitter.com/i/web/status/8…

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Thanks boss, efficient as always! Haha yeah the story of Disco Snail is quite funny :) thanks Randy!

Incredible art my friend! I share my artwork daily as well! I am definitely going to follow you!!

Thanks brother. Great work on your design. Following you too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67443.33
ETH 3253.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66