BUDDHA THE LIFEGIVER & SUSTAINER, My Favorite Combo Broke Apart

in #art6 years ago

I have probably written about Buddha The Lifegiver in the past, but that was before I had over 2k followers here, maybe like a year or two ago, and I believe that this painting deserves a little repost, so here we go.

budda the lifegiver resized cut.jpg

I started painting Buddha the Lifegiver in late 2014. At that time I was full blown in my "Buddha" period. I know, kinda weird name for a period of life, but that's honestly what it was.
After my first "vision of Buddha" in 2014 (posted here below), which I got during a meditation, I entered a phase of my life when I just kept of getting more and more Buddha-inspired paintings.

Buddha in rose blossoms logo resized.jpg
Small painting that started off an avalanche of Buddha paintings over period of 3 years

Not the typical Buddhist paintings or depictions of Buddha that you can see in temples. It had nothing to do with the Buddhism (which of course came after Buddha and was not necessarily his intention per say...). It had lots to do with the SPIRIT of Buddha, the Enlightened One.

What was his spirit then? I believe it had lots to do with compassion and letting go of sanskaras (attachments/rejections of ego). Back then I was also in my vegetarian and eventually vegan phase of life and I was doing lots of yoga, much more than now. I still do yoga every day, but it's more for maintenance and focus rather than trying to achieve certain level of advanced asanas, what I was striving for before.

So maybe it was all connected. I got a vision of Buddha shortly after I decided that I'll paint no matter what, even if it means to be poor. Perhaps that was the sigh of Universe telling me that the path that I have chosen was indeed meant for me in this lifetime.

Out of all the Buddha paintings that I did, and I believe there must have been dozens of them in total, Buddha the Lifegiver was easily my most favorite one. The level of ease with which it as delivered on canvas just proved to me that I'm painting in alignment with a greater purpose.

! buddha savanna hanes.jpg
I was bit "disheveled" back in 2014:)))

These detail pictures make it more justice

:
budda the lifegiver resized.jpg

2 logo resized.jpg

3 logo resized.jpg

hand detail 1.jpg

Shortly after I finished The Lifegiver, I had an amazing idea of painting his polar opposite, Buddha the Sustainer, in a way when put together they would fit.

I didn't even know I had this rare picture of me in the process of painting The Sustainer, right after I finished the Lifegiver

.

Quite Happy I found this picture today, it's a piece of history for me:)

hanes combo 1.jpg

This is how Buddha the Sustainer looked once done, in all his 8 feet beauty.
As you can see, the clouds from the Lifegiver continue to the Arctic ocean of the Sustainer's realm, so when put together they fit like a puzzle.

buddha the sustainer resized logo.jpg

I think that by the time I was done with the second one, it was early 2015.

buddha the sustainer detail 1.jpg

I really really like the details of the penguin family on this and the reflection of the iceberg in the water.

And this is how they look together when both fully finished...

.

Buddha The Lifegiver-sustainer combo.jpg

I wish I still had them both. But The Lifegiver sold to my crypto buddy to Florida last year and I been left with Sustainer alone. He paid the a fair price for it, yet I still sometimes miss looking at it, which is rare to me at this point, since I'm not very attached to my creations anymore.

I hope the paintings made you feel good!
They were created for that purpose.

Much Love to all of you and thank you for your continuous support!

Peace,

Jan
follow @jankasparec

! hanes buddha snow quote.jpg

Sort:  

Very nice your art, the colors are very vivid in fact I really liked. A nice tribute to Buddha.

Thanks a lot. I do love the message of Buddha.

Wow
Really beautiful art and Photography.
I like this your art. I appreciate your post.
Thanks for sharing this post.

I can see why you miss it, that one is absolutely fantastic, the detail shots kinda blow my mind and the overall composition is superb. Beautiful, I like how you meshed the two as well.

Thanks a lot bratha Jake!

Your artwork continues to inspire me. Absolutely beautiful work. The detail, color, and theme are all spot on. Cheers.

Very nice your art @jankasparec,very clear color and pretty beautiful, I really like. this is my first friend's painting.IMG-20180427-WA0005.jpg

Great painting I love it. That must have taken forever to paint, it's huge!

Wow! amazing artist. bravo

How full of wonder. Such great pictures you painted in the spirit of the Buddha. I am in awe.

Interesting that you don't feel attached to your former paintings anymore. That is a good sign to let go of them and give them into the world.

I understand though that the two belong together.

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63283.09
ETH 2463.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54