"Blue Magic", original painting. Is Art Therapy Real?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art8 years ago (edited)

“Blue Magic” is one of my favorite paintings I created in 2016. I mostly paint oil on canvas, sometimes on wood. This one is a 44x36 oil on canvas and it sold shortly after I made it public on social media. To someone I never met and who has not even seen the art in person, to the other side of Canada.

I had a great day today. But it flipped around to what I could chose to see as “bad day”, if I really wanted to play the victim game, which I really don't want to. So let's say it was an interesting day, with couple of tests and lessons learned. I won't lie though- I'm pretty blue now.

It involved a motorbike accident. I wasn't driving, I was sitting in the back. My new Russian friend was supposed to bring me to this hidden nature spot I didn't know. But the bike was mine (rented). My friend forgot to tell me one tiny detail - that he really doesn't know how to drive a motorbike. A little detail that cost lots of painful scratches to him (I fell down in much safer way) and lots of time and expenses to me. When I finally made it back home after negotiating the cost of the repairs and replacing the motorbike, I was exhausted. That was when I received a message from my brother with bad news regarding an important application.

When things go wrong, they tend to come in groups of two or more, don't you agree? :)

It was dark by the time I came back to my hut. And the first thing I did was to strip my clothes and run to the ocean. It is full moon today, and there's a massive Full Moon Party going on that made this Island famous (Ko Phangan). The low tide was really low. I was lying in the shallow water, listening to my lungs fill with air, bringing me up to surface, followed by slow exhale and sinking to soft sandy bottom. How easy to enter another world. Just put your head in the ocean and let go of your bitchy mind.


First time that I used Ying and Yang jellies as signature :)

I named this painting “Blue Magic” because it is truly magic for me. It calms me down, and that's why I looked at it tonight, and decided to share it with you.
It contains my three most favorite things in the world- the sky (especially the sunset), the ocean (especially a warm one) and a beautiful majestic animal. I even feel bad calling her majesty Whale an “animal”. Even the word “whale” should be changed to something that captures the beauty of this intelligent Queen of the Blue Kingdom better. Any suggestions guys?


Saying bye to Blue Magic as I'm starting to pack it for shipping to the new owner. Bit sad.

As I'm lying in my bed, I feel something more than pain in my ankle and back. I feel gratitude. Things might have gone so much worse. He could have hit a car going in the opposite direction.
I still have both hands so I can paint many more sunsets. I still have a heart beating with love for this world, and a beautiful path to walk.

Thank you for reading,

Much Love to all of you,

Jan

100% steempower, 100% love
Follow @jankasparec
https://steemit.com/art/@jankasparec/why-the-heck-do-i-paint-buddha

Sort:  

Well done!!

Very nice work. We want more!

Nice painting

She's a real majestic beauty, wonderful work.

It's beautiful! I love whales.

Awesome painting. I am still speachless from the painting from your article yesterday :-)
Resteemed ;-)

Wow! Spectacular painting, well done.

Beautiful artwork! I can agree that it's wonderfully calming to look at Blue Magic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65