"Angel Swing", original art. Step By Step Process Of Reworking An Oil Painting.

in #art7 years ago

I often rework older paintings. As I change, my artistic vision changes. My view of the world changes. Everything changes. That's just a great reminder not to take my own opinions and preconceptions too seriously. Chances are, they will change too.

Angel swing center logo.jpg

This particular painting was called “Tree of Knowledge”. There was a little naked couple (Adam and Eve), holding hands under the apple tree. Of course the whole Biblical story of the apple of knowledge and lost paradise is totally misinterpreted by Catholic church (did they ever NOT misinterpret anything actually?), but about that some other time. If you want to know the real esoteric meaning of this symbolic legend, look up Don Miguel Ruiz or Eckhart Tolle. These guys touched the Universal wisdom, unlike religious manipulators who have not even glimpsed it.

IMG_1804.JPG
Phase one. I already covered the apple tree in the sky, but Adam and Eve are still there, can you spot them?

This painting was not a complete re-touch. Sometimes I change paintings completely, as I have shown you in some of my past posts. This one just needed a change of theme, some rearranging of patterns and enhancing of colors. The only thing that changed completely was the sky.

IMG_1807.JPG

Sky is gone. So is Adam and Eve. New tree appeared at the bottom of waterfall.

IMG_1808.JPG

New clouds start to shape up, tree got better shape too.

IMG_1810.JPG

Here the major change is the progress on sky and the overall coloring and rearranging of the shapes in the fictitious landscape

IMG_1811.JPG

Ok the sky is getting nice and as you can see, I decided to redesign the pattern in the upper left part of landscape. Because I paint oil, I gotta wait until it at least partially dries to do the finishing work.

IMG_1833.JPG

Now the new patterns arrangement is done and all that is left to do is put the new objects that I wanted to have there and finish the lighting of the sky.

Angel swing logo.jpg

Ta-daaam! This is it. In the last session (after it was dry) I added the sun rays and the Angel on the swing and the dragonfly (bottom right). Like this the overall composition is not over-weighted towards left, where the butterfly resides.

Angel swing angel detail.jpg

You can probably spot the Angel and Dragonfly easier on this picture.

I hope that you enjoyed the transformation process! For now, I decided to call the new painting "Angel Swing".

We are all dragonflies in a way, or at least those of us, who go through major transformation in a lifetime, like nymph of dragonfly which lives under water and then one day climbs up a stem, tastes fresh air for the first time, transmutes into new shape, opens her newly born wings and flies.

Blessings to all of you,

Thank you for reading , upvoting and following,

Jan
@jankasparec

hanes paradise 2 colors.jpg

Sort:  

Wow. What for an awesome painting. Upvoted and resteemed :-)

Thanks brother!

Upvoted and resteemed :-)

Many thanks @welovesteemit!

You are very welcome bro. Send you much love on your way :-)

great stuff mate; I'm an artist as well - love the style and bold colours. Keep up the great work:)

Thanks bro. Following you, upvoted couple posts, you got great stuff! Much love @artofjph

thanks a lot @thearcanebear ! Following you!

Once again amazing! I absolutely love vibrant colors.

I'll bring some to Panama next year. More about that in person @hilarski. Lots of good stuff on the way brother! Many thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63651.41
ETH 2679.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80