The MAYAN Mask of DEATH and REBIRTH!

in #art6 years ago

Greetings! This is my glow in the dark rendition of the Mask of Death and Rebirth and I painted this piece in 2012. The original mask that this painting was inspired by was originally created by the Mayan people of Central America. The Mayan Culture was at its height and peek influence from around 1000 AD- 1300 AD, before the arrival of the Spanish. The Mask symbolizes the people's belief in the continuation of life after "death."

I personally believe also that death is illusory and that the soul, just like energy, cannot be created nor destroyed. I've always be fascinated by the pre-columbian cultures of the America's and try to honor and preserve these customs through my artwork! I hope that my efforts do indeed honor these people because their legacy was absolutely fascinating!

IMG_4431.JPG

I hope that you all have a prosperous week and that you stay warm and keep shining!

Many blessings,
~Hratch @jangaladesigns
STEEMBanner#1_edited-1.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85