When I’m not painting, I’m always writing.

in #art6 years ago

When I’m not painting, I’m always writing.



Greetings fellow Steemians,

You know whenever people ask me if I ever run out of ideas or things to paint, or experience an artistic drought; writing always comes to mind.

I never stop writing.

When I’m not painting, I’m always writing.

At a very young age, I felt fortunate in the realization of the absurdity of what we define as an “artist’s drought”.

I am confident in that considering how much I’ve written so far, I won’t be able to LIVE long enough to be able to paint and draw everything I want to.

Even if one were to just write what would appear to be a few “random key words” everyday, that will take you very far.

Personally when I practice that, I can just look at it and everything will just click together in what I’m wanting to depict. As I continue to write everyday I know I’ll never experience a dry spell. I’ll ALWAYS have something to work on!

Additionally, there are plenty of instances where these small insightful moments merge together with others, and that’s okay too.

I never underestimate the power of the written word.

Besides for always having plenty of creative material to fall back on, the very act of writing sharpens one’s ability to think in the first place. Hence the more you write, the better your ideas will be.

Of course not all ideas are all that great, or even equal for that matter. Some remain perpetually foggy, half baked or even constantly in the way until were able to sort them out by writing about them.

There’s nothing quite like the feeling of seeing the results and having the ability of clear thinking!


And this I owe to the continual practice of writing.


Please feel free to let me know what you think?

Thanks for reading Everyone!

-James Hansen

Instagram
Facebook

jameshansenpaintings.com

Sort:  

Ha ha ha ha,,,very funny.You are really genious.

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

I've come to realize the ridiculousness of "writer's block" as being better termed as laziness. One can always write. It doesn't matter if it's good or not. The point is to develop discipline. If a person writes only 200 words a day, five days a week, at the end of every year they've written a small novel. Now it might be a lousy novel, but it goes to show how much can be accomplished with just a little persistence. I appreciated your post. More people in the arts need to hear things such as this. For if you only paint, write, play music, when you're inspired, where's the development of style and grammar and all those things artists seem to disdain, but don't realize the great artists we revere, more often than not, were closer to hard workers than geniuses.

Nice bro, consistency is the key for perfection.

Slow and steady wins the race!

Agreeing with you james becomes repeatedly inevitable.
Doing something several times has positive impacts though comes on one side with its definite negatives but one thing observed is that doing one thing over and over comes in with the following;

IMPROVEMENT
Talking about improvent, most if not all steemians will agree with me that improvement in the way something is done does not come over a night but calls for relentless work and commitment which then gives a reason to correct mistakes either in spelling or sentence construction or even idea generation that adds to a better writing.
One can be in a better chance to win anything competitive if practice is only done over a period of time before the actual event or competition comes and what does this mean PERFECTION.

PERFECTION in itself requires time that's why we say in what ever good we do, we take time to perfect so all these come in play to tell and inform us that perfection also connects to the....

CHALLENGES FACED
Challenges give meaning to our daily struggles and commitments which means without challenges we never realize improvement in what we do or even understand the destiny of what we do with the clear intend of the success we want to celebrate over at the end of it.
To me James has communicated well to us and it is a wise piece to us who would want to see good results from what we seek to achieve in life......his is writing and painting,

Mine could be academic excellency and progress,

Yours could be success in business or even anything that gives meaning to you.....
STEEMIT CHOSE TO SEE A SUCCESS OF THIS PLATFORM AND TODAY I KNOW WE HAVE SEEN HOW FAR IT HAS ENJOYED SEEING ITS PROGRESS DUE TO ITS REPEATED TRIALS.
Thanks
Alioni Joseph
Steemians at Heart

Writing is a nice escape, mine is gaming. Artistic droughts are the worst though.

I like to think of writing like practicing scales or working out. It keeps the engine clean you know? I used to play a lot in my youth, but I found that I loved it so much that I became swallowed up in them :)

writing is good habit

You got a 40.06% upvote from @nado.bot courtesy of @jameszenartist!

Send at least 0.1 SBD to participate in bid and get upvote of 0%-100% with full voting power.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47