So today I decided my to-do lists needed an overhaul.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago

So today I decided my to-do lists needed an overhaul.



Greetings fellow Steemians,

Today I have found myself going through my mountain of to-do lists.

I guess I’ve been putting it off for so long that I didn’t realize it needed to be done.

Although while I try to look and adjust them everyday, today I thought they needed a complete overhaul.


I’m adding things all the time so I suppose it is no surprise that it would turn into this monstrous thing anybody would want to avoid!

And after all, what’s the point of having a list if it is not structured in such a way where it can guide your behavior right?

It appears at this point all I’ve done was summon a bunch of monsters that I know deep down I need to defeat eventually and let torment me until I do so! Hahaha!!

But with that being said, it sure does feel good to cross something off!



One of the biggest peeves of mine when creating lists is when I am confronted with 2 or more items on the list where I can’t decipher any of them having a lesser value than the others. At the same time I know better in that of course this would happen because anything worth while in accomplishing is going to be difficult. And if it were easy, it wouldn’t have been given a single after thought!


Putting my perfectionist attitude aside for a moment, I suppose that it’s normal to be stuck at a roadblock like this all the time.

Early this morning I received an email/notification for a newsletter I follow and the newsletter today reminded me that it is a good practice to keep several to-do lists going. Short lists and long lists.

You don’t want to keep your day to day goals mixed with your long term goals right (Yeah I know...I should practice what I preach)?

I’ve had a bad habit of doing this.


I’m really looking forward to seeing how this going to affect my day to day work ethic. I know I can admit that I have a really bad habit of letting things eat away at my attention even though it might not be urgent in finishing.

As I’m developing this better way for clearer thinking I’m hoping it will grant me greater peace of mind and greater productivity.



Thanks for reading Everyone!

-James Hansen

EMAIL: [email protected]

Instagram

Facebook

jameshansenpaintings.com

Sort:  

@jameszenartist sometimes we think so much in order to do things right? procrastination is definitely a big deal for most of us!

Yes, so much to the point where if you could calculate the amount of mental energy you spent in thinking about what you have to do, you'd find that you would've already finished it! I do that all the time.

While I'm sure procrastination plays a huge part, I'm not so sure that that is accurate. I sense that there's a major factor in that when one continues to dig deeper and deeper, and continues to accomplish more and more, the end results in even more obstacles and challenges to overcome to the point where someone can become overwhelmed and drown in a sea of potential future accomplishment.

Although, with that being said in no way do I want to imply that I believe that the answer is to just give up and throw out the baby with the bath water ;)

@jameszenartist great analysis! the more one dig the more one find as you said, the more one know the more one want to know, the more one have the more one want to have, is human ambition, so amazing! thanks for sharing thoughts!

You got a 5.27% upvote from @brupvoter courtesy of @jameszenartist!

You got a 5.37% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @jameszenartist!

You got a 26.61% upvote from @redlambo courtesy of @jameszenartist! Make sure to use tag #redlambo to be considered for the curation post!

You got a 15.11% upvote from @whalecreator courtesy of @jameszenartist! Delegate your Steem Power to earn 100% payouts.

You got a 7.05% upvote from @joeparys! Thank you for your support of our services. To continue your support, please follow and delegate Steem power to @joeparys for daily steem and steem dollar payouts!

This post has received a 22.08% upvote from @msp-bidbot thanks to: @jameszenartist. Delegate SP to this public bot and get paid daily: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP Don't delegate so much that you have less than 50SP left on your account.

You got a 3.60% upvote from @moneymatchgaming courtesy of @jameszenartist! Please consider upvoting this post to help support the MMG Competitive Gaming Community.

Thank you so much for using our service! You were protected from up to 20% losses!

Help us grow by delegating to us! 100sp, 500SP, 1000SP, ANY SP

You just received 8.33% upvote from @onlyprofitbot courtesy of @jameszenartist!

You got a 2.73% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @jameszenartist!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64664.97
ETH 3401.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31