I’ve been studying some contemporary drawing tactics.

in #art6 years ago

I’ve been studying some contemporary drawing tactics.



Greetings Everyone,

As I have been drawing consistently with graphite for the past few years with logical conclusions such as it being cleaner, cheaper, controllable and travel friendly; looking back I can remember how much I have loved charcoal even more!


Of course you can also reach a broader range of values with it, but what I also really enjoy about it is that you can build up and wipe down a drawing with greater ease. It is almost as if charcoal drawings can be referred to as reaching into the territory of how paintings are built up.


I am always aware that one can never do too much drawing. And with this new upcoming year, I thought it might be a good idea to work on some more charcoal drawings.

So in this post I thought I’d share this recent drawing showing some contemporary drawing practice strategies.

To those who are familiar with my blog posts, you are probably aware that my artistic education/background is very traditional. So while I’m not looking to completely reinvent my approach, I am definitely always learning.

These past couple of weeks I have been doing a lot of research into various free online demos and material, and this drawing was of course a result of some unorthodox, but effective techniques.

While I can see that I am pretty rusty, I really did enjoy working on this :)


Thanks for reading Everyone!

-James Hansen

EMAIL: [email protected]

Ebay

Instagram

Facebook

jameshansenpaintings.com

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jameszenartist from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.26
ETH 2668.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79