Here’s my latest still life (“Lunch Break”) and its development.

in #art6 years ago

Here’s my latest still life (“Lunch Break”) and its development.


Lunch Break.jpg

Lunch Break
9" x 12"
Oil on birch panel


Hey fellow Steemians!

In today’s post I thought I would share my latest finished still life painting along with a discussion of its development.

At first I began with a very generalized block in with thinned burnt umber. My approach to this painting was particularly different in that I jumped right in the beginning with color. After the very quick drawing, I immediately realized that the whole composition needed to be shifted downwards.

Lunch Break1.jpg


Using mixtures of ultramarine blue and burnt umber, I then massed in the ground plane and with ivory black and cadmium red massed in the bottle.

Lunch Break2.jpg


While filling in the drapery in the background, I simultaneously refined the contour drawing of the bowl.

Lunch Break3.jpg


After finishing the first pass of the bowl, I then worked on its cast shadow keeping it warm in temperature.

Lunch Break4.jpg


As this painting was particularly absorbent, I then started to rework the dark background. In rendering the subtle passages in the cloth, I used tiny amounts of yellow ocher to render some of the forms and raising its value.

Lunch Break5.jpg


After working in the napkin, I then proceeded to do the same with the foreground section of the cloth facing the viewer. At this point I also wanted to emphasize the cascading light that appeared to flood all over the light blue ground plane.

Lunch Break6.jpg


Now I started to refine the bottle’s edges and fill in some of the small details like some of the reflected lights in the glass.

Lunch Break8.jpg


After refining the napkin and its shadow, I then added some details and refined edges all over the painting.

Lunch Break9.jpg

...Aaannd it's finished!

Lunch Break.jpg

The palette I used for this work was titanium white, yellow ocher, cadmium red, venetian red, burnt umber, ultramarine blue, and ivory black.


Please feel free to let me know what you think?

Thanks for reading Everyone!

-James Hansen

Instagram
Facebook

jameshansenpaintings.com

Sort:  

An interesting development of still life :)

How long did this work take you James?

This took only a few days, but to be fair I worked on it non stop 8-10 hrs everyday..paint/sleep/paint/sleep you know? ;)

Would you mind following me back? https://steemit.com/@a-0-0

Wonderful post. You’ve got a follower @jameszenartist

STOP THE SPAM @ARTEMIS94

WOW - 141 SPAM Comments in 4 hours...and counting. Nobody in the whole world read 141 posts and answer that fast..... so you just answer smartass answers.

You will be ending up with nothing if you continue like this. Your Reputation will go down the drain.
This is SPAM - I will start to downvote you til you stop this nonsense.

Regards
@Ramta Reddington - Your worst nightmare

Excellent post my friend. I wish more good things will come to you @jameszenartist

Thank you, I'm glad you liked it! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54554.44
ETH 2294.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31