Here’s my latest alla prima painting (Mango Alla Prima, 9” x 12”) and it’s development.

in #art6 years ago

Here’s my latest alla prima painting (Mango Alla Prima, 9” x 12”) and it’s development.


Alla Prima Mango.jpg

Mango Alla Prima
9" x 12"
Oil on birch panel


Greetings fellow Steemians!

In today’s post I thought I’d share and discuss my latest alla prima painting and its process.

At first I began with a very generalized drawing with thinned burnt umber, mapping out the placement of the mango and the ground plane.

Before I even started this painting, I made a firm decision in that I was going to be constantly aware of the state or structure of the painting’s drawing throughout its development. I also decided to remain very observant, even more so than I usually am in that I was attempting to paint as directly as possible and to slow waaaayy down.

If you think about it and were to have been a passive observer of me painting, I most likely were to have been perceived as looking more than actually painting.

The idea I was after was that each stroke I was laying down was intended to be a finishing one.

Mango1.jpg


As I was finding the mango’s local color and lights, I then proceeded simultaneously to render the form shadows, core shadow, cast shadow and background.

With this painting, I really wanted to become more playful with edges in general.

Mango2.jpg


With finishing off the mango by adding details and the major highlights, I then worked on filling in the background.

Mango3.jpg


..Aaannd it's finished!!

Alla Prima Mango.jpg

The palette I used for this painting was titanium white, cadmium yellow light, quinacridone rose, burnt sienna, burnt umber, ultramarine blue, and ivory black.


Please feel free to let me know what you think?

Thanks for reading Everyone!

-James Hansen

Instagram
Facebook

jameshansenpaintings.com

Sort:  

I appreciate it, although I don't know much about this knowledge

wow just awesome.it's like magic in your painting.

Thank you, I'm glad you liked it! :)

Thank you, I'm glad you appreciated it :)

You got a 11.01% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @jameszenartist!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05