“A Study of The Painter’s Hands” and its development.

in #art6 years ago

“A Study of The Painter’s Hands” and its development.


The Artist's Hands Study.jpg

A Study of The Painter's Hands
9" x 12"
Oil on birch panel


Greetings fellow Steemians!

In this post I thought I would share my latest painting of a study of my own hands and discuss its process/development.

So before I was going to transfer my block in drawing, I first decided to tone the panel’s surface with raw sienna.

The Artist's Hands Study1.jpg


After I transferred my armature drawing, I then sealed it with ink and then began to proceed with laying in the shadows/darks.

The Artist's Hands Study2.jpg


Working in a very tight and direct manner, I progressively aimed towards a final finish as much as possible before moving on to connecting the adjacent forms.

The Artist's Hands Study3.jpg


As I continued to work in the shadows, I kept into consideration to have them remain “hot” in temperature, and to render the core shadow’s terminator line (the forms coming out of the shadow) to be cold but neutral.

The Artist's Hands Study4.jpg


As I finished the first pass on the first hand, I then began to finish massing in the adjacent background with a mixture of titanium white and ultramarine blue.

The Artist's Hands Study5.jpg


..I then continued to somewhat fill in the surrounding background and with mixtures of ivory black and venetian red started to fill in the predominant shadows of the left hand.

The Artist's Hands Study6.jpg


As you can see in the section between the thumb and index finger, in the methodical approach of tiling I made sure to extend the cold but neutral midtones out of the core shadow, proceeded to render in the local color of the form, and increasing in value as I turned into the light.

As a side note, I’d like to point out that I treat all forms in this way. Just remember, that in a sense everything is a sphere.

The Artist's Hands Study7.jpg


..Working my way up to the fingers, I made sure to keep those lightest of lights as opaque as I can.

The Artist's Hands Study8.jpg


...Aaannd it's finished!

The Artist's Hands Study.jpg

The palette I used for this painting was once again what I’d consider a minimal palette. I used titanium white, yellow ocher, venetian red, ultramarine blue, and ivory black.


Please feel free to let me know what you think?

Thanks for reading Everyone!

-James Hansen

Instagram
Facebook

jameshansenpaintings.com

Sort:  

Boost Your Post. Send 0.100 STEEM or SBD and your post url on memo and we will resteem your post on 5000+ followers. check our account to see the follower count.

Your concept is very nice. Thank you very much for giving us a nice article. It is I who am reading your article. And enjoying read it. Wish you good luck and going on you writing.Keep this up, Followed you for more :)

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch . If your post has more upvotes, your post will appear in the trending page. To get more upvotes, you can bid for @steembidbot vote. please check it out here: https://steembottracker.com/

You got a 0.84% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @jameszenartist!

A very good work, upvoted!
Just today I posted my interpretation of hand...let me know what do you think about it. Thanks!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63476.83
ETH 3413.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50