Creating Abstract Art on Canvas with a Garbage Pail Kids underlay!

in #art7 years ago (edited)

There was once a time when I feared putting paint onto a canvas. Coming from a mostly digital background in creativity, diving into anything analog was a process I used to stray away from. I felt more comfortable pushing pixels on a screen than doing anything with my hands in the real world, until recently.

Over the past year or so, with inspiration from friends like @paulcolumbus, @dougdallas and @robwalsh, I have been seeking the therapy gained from the mindless task of putting paint onto canvas.

Yesterday I decided to buy some supplies and begin creating some ideas that I've had for quite some time. Below is a look at the process.

Enjoy!

JL


The final piece

IMG_0077.jpg

For this process, I decided to create a collage of Garbage Pail Kids collectors cards as the base of the painting.

Sequence 01.00_12_17_23.Still001.jpg

I then applied acrylic paint using a pallette knife to spread the paint around.

Sequence 01.00_27_05_08.Still002.jpg

Small details of the Garbage Pail Kids are seen through the layers of acrylic paint.

IMG_0078.jpg

IMG_0079.jpg

Overall I'm very happy with the results. It didn't turn out exactly how I saw it in my mind, but the colors are pleasing and it looks great in person and on the wall.

IMG_0080.jpg

IMG_0083.jpg

I was going to continue to add more to the finished canvas, but I decided to leave this one as is and call it complete.

IMG_0082.jpg


Follow along for more creative posts and abstract art!

Sort:  

Nice modern comment

Thx!

Really nice view and thanks for sharing it.I will wait for your next post. @jameslano

Follow along for more!

<3

Hi james,
Im starting new FB group for designers and design lovers on Steemit to post their articles and support each other.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/SteemitDesigners/

Gosh man. I seriously love your art. Glad you used yunk tag so i could see it easier. :)
@clevercreator look at it!

I appreciate that, might have to continue with these!

Thanks!

Please do. I love your style.

I actually rly like this. I think its good you didn't add more ...i can relate since i ruined quite a lot of my peaces due to the feeling that something is lacking.

I'm glad I stopped too! I'm happy with it this way!

Thanks!

Real talk! Ive definitely ruined pieces by not stopping

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82