All Work No Play: Creating An Abstract Painting

in #art7 years ago

Art as Therapy or how I learn to deal with downtime by JL

A few months ago I started working on an abstract painting to keep my mind stimulated before I started the projects I am currently working on. I decided to tackle the biggest canvas I had ever used and didn't have too much of a general direction in mind upon starting.

I began by creating an underbelly with some words, "All work and no play makes James a dull boy". A predictable Kubrick reference, but also a commentary on how I felt at the time.

The final painting can be seen below.

IMG_0307.jpg

I picked a handful of colors and ran with it, pushing paint around with a plastic card.

IMG_0310.jpg

The result was a swirling blend of colors that flowed from my subconscious.

IMG_0308.jpg

IMG_0311.jpg

IMG_0312.jpg



ॐॐॐ
Namaste
ॐॐॐ

JL


Follow me for my creative posts


www.jameslano.com

Sort:  

Thank you for this 'peek behind the scenes' of creating your abstract work. I love the use of colors and the brush strokes. Upvoted

I would be honored if you take a look at my latest blogs when you have time. Your valuable comments are eagerly awaited. Thanks

Thanks so much! I appreciate that

I'll take a look!

Have a few hours of free time each week?? Why not use it to earn some money online? Learn more here-> >http://Path70.com

FOLLOWED. This is gorgeous and right up my alley. Abstracts are my absolute favorite, I just joined Steemit a week ago and am shooting to make my blog pretty heavily art-focused. If you ever want to talk shop I'd be delighted.

Keep creating! I love your stuff!

If you like abstracts you should give my friend @paulcolumbus and @robwalsh a follow!

But thank you! I appreciate that and welcome to Steemit!

give me a follo! hehe :)

yaya more artists especially painters!
Anomia.jpg

very creative! how did you do that?

Just paint and a plastic card!

jameslano great art.

Thanks so much!

Love the colors. very youthful and fun. #artislife

Agreed! This piece makes me so happy

Thank you :)

Love the verbal art, i love how all the colored paintings have directional flow

Great colors here, nice and bright and happy. Also always love to see that close up texture on paintings like this, makes it feel more real. I'm trying to get people making great stuff to submit their creativity to #weirdwednesday tomorrow. I think you'd be a great fit, would love if you contributed something.

Thanks!

I'll definietly check it out

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94