When you're feeling Doomed, Pen & Ink Drawing

in #art6 years ago (edited)

You painfully get up and return to the fray ...

doomed.jpg

The space marine slowly gets back up and readies himself for the next battle. He sets out save what's left of a doomed Earth.


Sometimes, life gets you down. The only thing to do is just get up and keep going. I've recently had an illness in the family and it's really been getting to me. I have to push myself to keep going with my artwork.

This feeling reminded me of the first episode ending screen in Doom 2, Hell on Earth. That Doom guy sure felt like giving up after he saved the remnant of humanity and got them into space. He later receives a transmission telling him that a portal has been detected in the centre of his ruined home city. He considers that If he goes into the hell portal and closes it from the inside, humanity might have a home to return to...

So as you can see, I decided to draw this scene. I think ID software should have created digital artwork like this instead of the text screens. This was also an exercise in speed drawing. I managed to do this one in just under two hours :) feeling very proud and nostalgic.


doom 2.png

What an amazing game! It's still really fun and challenging and can be modded to look better on PC.

Hope you enjoyed this bit of line art. Take care and see you on the next one!

my logo.jpg

Sort:  

Excellent @jameshsmitharts i like much.... one classic of the games! :)

Thanks man! I haven't played the new one but I'm sure it will never be as good as the original games. I will still have to give it a spin at some stage.

If you're right, for me one that I liked was DOOM 64, 20 years ago I played it... that memories!

Very good, man! I like your vision of DOOM, have played this back then and after that Duke3d (despite it was more commercial in style)...
You're right they've could show us more epic pictures...
However every kB was precious to load... on a diskette..
Thank you!

Glad you enjoyed it and good to know there are peeps who enjoyed that epic game. They don't make um like that anymore...

I do play it with risen 3D graphics mod from time to time. Still brilliant.

Ahh Doom, many hours spent playing this- the 90's version

Wow, youre officially epic ☺

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Stilgar from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63562.42
ETH 2649.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77