Teen Titans Tribute VOL 2 [Digital Art Collection from 2005]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

teen-titans-header.jpg

Last month I shared some of my Teen Titans fan art from 2004 and it's time to follow that up with artwork from 2005. I was a junior in high school and absolutely fascinated with the series. I even tried started my own fan comic, which I will share on a later date.

Robin

Boy-Wonder.jpg

Although these drawings are over a decade old now, I believe this one has stood the test of time and I still show it alongside my more recent entrees. I modified Robin's suit just a tad by adding some extra detail on his gloves and boots. I was inspired by the opening credits of the show for the background, a layered city landscape against a red background.

Young Nightwing

Transition.jpg

The episode where Starfire travels forward through time was pretty memorable, and the best part of it was seeing Robin as the adult superhero, Nightwing. I wasn't fond of the long hair, but I did like how simple and true the design was when compared to the Batman: The Animated Series. I wanted to play around with the idea of Robin transitioning to Nightwing even as a teenager.

Super Titan Bros

Super-Titans-Bros.jpg

This one it not one of my best drawings, but I thought the attempt was worth it. I had seen great success in my Teen Titans/Cowboy Bebop crossover. I thought I could so the same using the Super Mario Bros series. Beast Boy makes a great Yoshi, but Robin and Cyborg look funny with mustaches.

Young Love

Young-Love.jpg

This was a commission from an artist on DeviantArt. He has an original character, a sci-fi super hero, who falls in love with Starfire. There were a number of other artists commissioned to draw the two together, so I thought I would give it a try, too. I was inspired by the rooftop scene in the first episode where Starfire was going to fly away and there was a rather large and beautiful moon in the night sky.

Robin Sketch

Robin-sketch.jpg

While in high school I liked to experiment with different drawing and coloring techniques. I'm inspired by other artists and sometimes I try to mimic other styles as part of my learning process as a self-taught artist. This was drawn using a single-color ballpoint pen and using pressure to create the dynamic strokes. Using Adobe Photoshop, I selected the different areas and applied a color tone to it.

Destiny

Destiny.jpg

Slade Wilson (aka: Deathstroke the Terminator) is perhaps my favorite villain in the entire DC Comics. In the Teen Titans animated series, the episodes where he battles Robin were always the best. I was inspired by the show to create an epic showdown between the two. The drawing itself is sub-par, but I relied heavily on the coloring and effects to make it better.

Up Close and Personal

Up-Close-and-Personal.jpg

This one is a bit more risque than my average drawing. Starfire is not really the seductive type, so her demeanor in this drawing doesn't really match her character. But that's why this is fan art, the sky is the limit. Nevertheless, I think Robin and Starfire make such a nice couple. I was really disappointed that the series never dove deeper in that regard.

Over the years since I have illustrated a lot less Teen Titans fan art, but it's still my favorite team of superheroes. Young Justice is certainly a better show in terms of storytelling, but I really felt invested in the Titans and would love it the series made a come back (I'm not looking at you Teen Titans Go!). I will post more of my Teen Titans fan art again in the future, VOL 3.

James Art Ville Footer

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65904.42
ETH 2618.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67