Quirky Girl Original Art [Process Drawing]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Quirky-Header.jpg

Today, I honor the mother of my children. She has given birth to four amazing kiddos and is the woman my heart yearns to be with. She is the most beautiful woman I know and I want to cherish our relationship to the best of my ability.

My favorite way of doing just that is to illustrate her.

The Wire Frame

Quirky-Wires.jpg

One of the things that makes her so unique is her quirky personality. She's timid and shy, and hates posing for pictures. You could say she's not very photogenic. Her pose here is stiff and awkward, with her shoulders tense and her hands in her pockets.

The Sketch

Quirky-Sketch.jpg

Despite feeling put on the spot, her smile is slight and genuine. She's never been the kind of girl who flashes her pearly whites. Those big grins work for cover girls. Even her attire is modest. She's not showing any cleavage or midriff. No makeup required. Her only accessory is a simple bracelet.

The Line Art

Quirky-Lineart.jpg

I've discovered that the more I illustrate her, the more and more accurate I get to her likeness. I didn't give her a petite nose or big lips. She is broad shouldered and quite slim in figure. I used to subconsciously insert generic features that I thought captured beauty, but at the cost of her real appearance. I am finding that I am attracted more and more to her unique beauty and I enjoy drawing her just as she is.

The Flat Colors

Quirky-Flats.jpg

She isn't a natural blonde, but for the last year she has been coloring it so. I thin kit suits her well. It's been something she's wanted to do for as long as we've been together, but she finally nailed it. I think the purple shirt compliments her tones very well.

The Finished Illustration

Quirky-Final.jpg

She loves the outdoors. Her entire childhood was spent in the back country in Northern Canada. She loves to plant gardens, make fairy houses, and landscape. For this reason I applied a subtle texture to the entire image, to create an earthy feel. I bathed her in golden sunlight as a finishing touch to the image, like a Golden Goddess.

I will miss illustrating her. I will have less and less opportunity to do so in the future, it seems. I appreciate the time we had together. But all things eventually come to an end. She will always hold a special place in my heart, forever.

James Art Ville Footer

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

She looks confident and self-assured :> Very nice ! Good, clean colours, as usual <3

you are so fast Speedy :P hugshugs my Speedy

Wow not only did you make a fantastic artwork here, your wife looks absolutely stunning! She must be very happy with this artwork..

I hope so. She didn't say much when I showed it to her. :(

You did such a beautiful job illustrating her here, and I found myself smiling throughout your post, until I got to your last paragraph, which made me very sad and left me wondering why?

Thank you very much for your encouraging comment. Unfortunately, she is divorcing me. I am having a difficult time adjusting to my new reality. I think about her all of the time, and it only makes moving on more difficult. I am trying my best.

Oh @jamesartville, I am so sorry to hear that! I wish I had some magic words to help you heal, but unfortunately I don't. Time will make it easier, but that does you no good now; give yourself time to heal and move on when you're able. In the meantime, you have to mourn the loss, like a death, and process your feelings accordingly. It's normal, if that's at all helpful, but not the least bit an easy thing to do. Sending lots of positive vibes your way!!

Thank you so much for your words of encouragement. That is good advice. I am doing my best.

I'm glad it was helpful @jamesartville. You know where to find me if you ever need more encouragement 😅 Stay strong!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61