Merry Christmas from the Hero of Time [Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

Holiday-Hero-of-Time-Header.jpg

A special post today to celebrate the Holidays. I want to personally wish every one of my followers (and potential followers) a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! 2017 was an amazing year for me as an artist. I jumped back into creating early in the year and I challenged myself in many ways. I feel good about my growth and the feedback I have received from your comments. Thank you everybody so much!

The Sketch

Holiday-Hero-of-Time-Sketch.jpg

This one is quite special because of two reasons. First, I drew this back in 2015, so it's a few years old. I never got around to finishing it but I thought now was the perfect time. The second thing that makes this initial drawing different is the fact that I drew it on paper using a good old fashion pencil. That's the way I used to do it for most of m life, but as of late I have been exclusively creating on my Wacom Mobilestudio Pro. It's just easier and less paper is wasted this way.

The Line Art

Holiday-Hero-of-Time-Lineart.jpg

It did feel strange drawing the line art for something that is a few years old. Had I redrawn this from scratch I know it would have turned out differently. But instead of doing it over again from the beginning, I stayed true to the original as best I could and creating my clean line art. I changed a few things, but they were pretty minor adjustments.

The Flat Colors

Holiday-Hero-of-Time-Flats.jpg

This parody works on many levels, and one of them is the fact that Link from the Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time can wear the Goron tunic, colored red. Even as a kid, during Christmas time I would play the game and equip the Goron tunic and roll around Hyrule pretending Link was wearing a Holiday themed costume. Epona makes a much better reindeer than Rudolph.

The Finished Illustration

Holiday-Hero-of-Time-Final.jpg

Another advantage this drawing is funny is because Link's toy sack is replaced with his bomb bag, made from the stomach of a Dodongo. Instead of "Ho Ho Ho" I should make Link say something along the lines of "Het Heh Hiya". The Legend of Santa: Christmas Time. This would make a great ugly Christmas sweater, don't you think?

I've only been on Steemit for a couple of months now, but it has been a really experience thus far and I am really excited to see where it takes me in the future. I continue to recommend to all my friends to sign up and post, especially since they already do on Facebook. I'd like to extend an invitation to all of you and ask you: What kind of posts would you like to see from me? More art? How about videos? Reviews? Fan art?

Thank you all very much. Merry Christmas!

James Art Ville Footer

Sort:  

Awesome art work, as always. I love the eyes. And I don't think anything you make could make an "ugly sweater", it would be an awesome sweater! I'd totally wear that!

Oh, I'm definitely making it for you!

How nice! Link is always welcome! good job, Vote and Follow

firma 3.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64258.95
ETH 3170.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55