Holding Off the Horde Commission Illustration [Process Drawing]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Holding-Off-the-Horde-Header.jpg

I was recently commissioned by @bl23c for a drawing of himself with one of his close friends fighting off a horde of zombies. He specifically wanted to be holding a pipe like a baseball bat and a machete for his partner. I don't illustrate horror very often, so this was kind of a first for me in that regard. I didn't make it too grotesque, but I did want to give it a "Walking Dead" vibe.

The Wire Frame

Holding-Off-the-Horde-Wires.jpg

I only laid the wireframe figure drawings for the two survivors. It's messy, but it gets the basic pose that I was going for. Most of the time I fill out my wireframes with more shapes, but time I just left it with straight lines. I don't always measure leg and torso length using the height of the head as the base measurement. I usually wing it and make adjustments on the fly if I think the proportions looks off.

The Sketch

Holding-Off-the-Horde-Sketch.jpg

When it comes to commissions, this one was definitely a lot of work because of the multiple layers and detail with all of the figures. I was very messy with my initial sketch and the more lines I put down the better. I wanted this one to have a lot of grunge and messy detail. It's not my favorite thing to do, but a good environment can really make or break the rest of the artwork.

The Line Art

Holding-Off-the-Horde-Lineart.jpg

Drawing figures is my favorite part of illustrating. However, having too many in a single piece can be really intimidating. It sometimes saps the joy of drawing and becomes mechanical, like grind-work. But it's important to draw, especially when it's not easy to do so. This is what pushes artists to new levels and sharpens skill.

The Flat Colors

Holding-Off-the-Horde-Flats.jpg

I decided to go with earth colors for the horde because they are organic, in contrast to the blue hues I used for the rest of the environment. The male has a Star Wars logo on his black shirt while the female is wearing a shirt with The Eagles logo on it. Lastly, it was requested to have blood splatters on her shirt. By the look of her face, it's clear that she's a force to be reckoned with.

The Final Illustration

Holding-Off-the-Horde-Final.jpg

I used a combination of cel-style and airbrush shading for this piece, which is something I don't do very often. I usually use one or the other. I also added a texture overlay over the entire thing to give it a grunge look. I thought it looked much better than the version without it. I was really going for something that could be good enough to appear on the cover of a comic book.

When finished, the commissioner was very happy with it. I believe he printed a poster and gave it to his friend as a gift. What a nice way to commemorate such a unique and meaningful friendship!

James Art Ville Footer

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

This is really beautiful. Am sure your clients will love it. You sure have strengthened a relationship
Welldone
@tormiwah

Thank you very much. Yes, it was well received.

So good! I really love it!

Hi jamesartville,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

very cool, james ! love the expressions of the characters and the composition works very well, also :D INTENSE~ the colours are also very nicely done <3

would be stoked with this, if i was your client !!!

Thank you so much. I'm glad you like it. They did, too!

Excellent commission. And the lady in the picture seems to be enjoying the blood bath, looking at her expression :).

-upvoted-

This is so cool.. great job here..

Absolutely love this, @jamesartville! Really enjoyed seeing the process, and the final result is excellent. Zombies rule! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81