Avatar: The Last Airbender | Waterbending Aang Collaboration Fan Art with Raven Momoka.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

Aang-Header.jpg

The talented artist, Raven Momoka and I have teamed up again to create another collaboration art. Last time she colored my Silent Princess from the Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild. Before that, I colored her drawing of Wonder Woman. This time, the subject is Avatar Aang from the hit series, Avatar: The Last Airbender. This is personally one of my favorite cartoon shows of all time.

The Line Art

Aang-Lineart.jpg

This one starts with the line art drawing, illustrated by Raven Momoka. She depicted Aang as a teenager practicing his waterbending. Why isn't he Earthbending? Firebending? Airbending? His stance suggests water because of the way his warms and fingers are loose and wavy. Water is a fluid element. So, too, is the practice of water bending.

The Flat Colors

Aang-Flats.jpg

Since Raven's line art isn't anti-aliased like I prefer, I couldn't use the paint bucket fill tool to fill in the colors with a few easy clicks. In instances like this I usually use the lasso tool to select each shape and then apply color. But this time, however, I used the G-pen (Clip Studio Paint) and drew my shapes instead on a new layer, underneath the line art layer. My pen settings have anti-aliasing turned off, which allowed me to fill in just how I like.

The Finished Illustration

Aang-Final.jpg

To stay true to the series, I shaded this using the simple cel-style technique. I do this by creating a new layer over my colors, lowering the opacity to 30-40%, and I draw in the lines for the shadows and fill in again using the fill tool. I like to avoid using black on my shadow layer, it looks terrible on skin. I prefer to use a dark red.

The water is multi-layered with different shapes and colors. I blurred one edge to give the impression of movement. I also imposed a texture over the entire thing. I was going to only use for the ice, but I thought it looked pretty good everywhere else too. It reminds me of a old parchment, which is really fitting considering the series is pretty primitive and rustic, with technology being equivalent to feudal times.

As part of the collaboration with Raven Momoka, I also provided her with a drawing of Aang. My version is different because I illustrated him as an adult, as seen on the Legend of Korra. I am excited to see her bring it to life with her vibrant coloring techniques. Maybe I'll post it after she finishes it.

James Art Ville Footer

Sort:  

I like the flat color version more than the final :) Well, its a matter of taste

I agree, it preserves the original asthetics of the show better.

:) looks good ~ your art style is adorable.

Thank you very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58884.60
ETH 2504.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45