Pondering the Question - What is Art over Drinks and Drawing?

in #art9 months ago

Pondering the Question - What is Art over Drinks and Drawing?

20231005_204143.jpg


Hi Friends,

Art is subjective. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. One person's masterpiece is another's garage sale fodder. My friend and I found ourselves debating these notions over drinks last night. It started when I gifted them a notepad and pens, encouraging their newfound interest in drawing. But our conversation soon wandered into the tricky question - what makes something art?

My friend's entry into art is refreshing, lacking pretension and hungry for knowledge. As we chatted, I brought up iconic works like Duchamp's "Fountain" - simply a urinal laid on its side and declared art. This shows how anything can potentially be art if the artist asserts it as such.

To test the idea, I grabbed a cigarette tray sitting on our table, angled it just so, and took an artsy photo. With a few filters, I pronounced this moody scene of butts and ashes to be my new masterwork, "The Lonely Man." My friend laughed, but agreed it could pass as art with the proper backstory.

The Moody Man

We batted examples back and forth. I drew an ashtray in a single continuous pen line, keeping my hand on the page like a heart monitor. This automatic creation process felt meditative. I titled the piece "Fin" and fabricated meaning around the cigarette butts' brief lives. Suddenly another work was born!

The Moody Man on Paper

Amused but also thoughtful, my friend questioned what elevated these casual creations to "art" status. Did effort matter? Does the audience reaction define a work? Does selling it for profit it make it more authentic? We debated heartily, enjoying the exercise.

20231005_204104.jpg

I argued that art lies in the ideas and emotions evoked, not just technical skill. Some folk art or outsider art has childlike quality, but incredibly resonance. Art is subjective, so standards differ. For some, art should provoke, inspire, disturb, or challenge perspectives. For others, it should simply look pretty on the wall.

My Friends art

My friend felt art requires practice and intent. Doodling absently differs from consciously trying to create something meaningful. Art is communication - the artist intends to convey something purposefully to the viewer. Feedback is part of the process.

We concluded that art takes many forms, but thrives on curiosity. Questioning art's definitions prompts us to look closer and engage more thoughtfully as viewers. My friend left excited to continue developing their style and explore what art means to them personally. Open-mindedness is key.

What are your perspectives on art? Share your thoughts below! I welcome other interpretations on this puzzle of what constitutes art. Perhaps there are no definitive answers. But discussing art in all its forms, high and low, pushes us to new perspectives. The journey of questioning, creating, and conversing is where the real magic lies.

20231005_204204.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57946.22
ETH 3059.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34