Writing Baybayin - The way our anscestors used to write in the PhilippinessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

MABUHAY! Hi Steemians 🇵🇭🙋

An interesting and covert part of Philippine History; Our old writing system called Baybayin or Alibata which was used before the spanish colonization (before the 1500s). I made an artwork on this ancient writing.

IMG-20171117-WA0078.jpg

This is my reference picture for my art
alibata-alphabet.gif

Baybayin or Alibata

Source 1
The alphabet consists of 14 consonants and 3 vowels.
The letters have "kudlit" or a small mark or dot below a consonant character to change how it is pronounced.
It actually reminds me of hebrew alefbet (alphabet)

The Artwork

baybayin_alibata_by_jyacini.jpg
Title: Alibata

Medium: Cartolina paper, markers, gel pen, colored pencils, pencil and eraser
IMG-20171117-WA0077.jpg

The Process

(1) I study the letters and try to memorize their form and shape 📝

This set of letters were used for Tagalog and other languages hundreds of years ago. Today, many have heard of this but only a handful can write it or fancy learning it.
IMG-20171117-WA0075.jpg
I tried to write it as if it was natural to me

(2) i sketched the letters and then drew a person writing🔷✏️

I did this to emphasize culture and writing.
FB_IMG_1511069993295.jpg
FB_IMG_1511069996765.jpg

  • The paper is smooth so layer colors carefully
  • Base tone for skin tone is yellow, fleshtone and yellowgreen
  • Midtone is orange and red
  • Shadows are dark brown, dark green and black

(3) I draw the rest of the parts and then ink the pencil lines of the Alibata letters

FB_IMG_1511069999698.jpg
IMG-20171117-WA0074.jpg
IMG-20171117-WA0073.jpg

This was a big artwork that I was not so familiar with, I felt a lot of pressure that I might mess it up. Decent progress was a milestone.

(4) inking the letters and putting effects around it

Inking with a fine tipped gel pen I had worries that i might run out of ink and might not finish it. Thankfully i made it!
IMG-20171117-WA0076.jpg
I used red, orange and brown then an aura of yellow
I also had very little space but I managed to balance it equally.

(5) Inking the drawing to emphasize shadows🎨

This makes the drawing pop out more.
baybayin_alibata_by_jyacini.jpg

✔️And it is done!

I enjoyed exploring a part of my culture which is so old but new to us.
It was once erased from our culture but now I am glad it is gaining more popularity again.
Hopefully this can be brought to life again by my people. I hope my fellow steemians will appreciate this, @Deveerei 🇵🇭
Paki check nalang hehe 📝

Thank you for stopping by! 🐾

If you enjoy my art follow, upvote and resteem 🌹🇵🇭

received_10214586986052169.jpeg
received_10207687343220637.jpeg

Sort:  

Nice work jas...

Maraming salamat po :)

Nice work @jacinta.sevilla! I was trying to write my name di ko magawa... walang "R" haha.

Oo bakit walang R :(
Salamat po s feedback 📝

Ganun ata talaga maraming walang consonants natin ngayon 😉

oo :( improvise nalang po... aylin nalang?

D is R. Add a small kuwit at the bottom part like a small tail. Thats the modern way. Before D and R are the same, notice: din and rin, daw and raw.

OMG SALAMAT SA INFO. OMG NOW I KNOW. kala ko grammatical ang purpose ng din daw. Rin raw. Ty ❣️

Beauty typography project. the alefbet punctuation is largely beneath the letters. all abjad languages share a similar morphology.. I wonder how far those languages traveled from the middle east.

Yes youre right, this writing style is influenced or might have been adopted from middle east since one of the first settlers here apart from Malays were islamic/ middle east.

That's interesting, because to me some of the forms remind me of the cursive style letters in Hebrew.

I see well i did say it reminded me of hebrew :D or also indian writings.

nice informations about typography. thanks for sharing valuable updates @jacinta.sevilla. Appreciated and support your efforts.

Hello and thank you for your appreciation :D thank youuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu

It is really amazing work in a hard language for me thank you for sharing with us.

Thank you for the nice comments :) yes its something a bit new for me but i managed to finish it.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jacinta.sevilla to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

i upvote and follow yo same to me

Thanks. Will do!

Nice art 😊

Thank you so much!

Excellent post @jacinta.sevilla. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you for your appreciation 🏆

Wow!
Mapawow ka nman talga! Galing and yung passion mo to do it! 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62890.35
ETH 2544.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.94