Looking Back at Your Art: Best but not the Best

in #art6 years ago

2467b5cd-2ae3-4b6a-b2d2-fc2eac6564c5.jpeg


This is a work in progress picture of one of my best artworks of 2017. This is one of my most detailed and favorite piece.

Zeus is a blind screech owl and yes his eyes look like a nebula/ outerspace/ star studded.
He appears to have no pupil/iris and in his eyes are jelly, conjinctiva and floaters which reflect light and produces the galaxy like effect that we see in pictures of Zeus.

He was found in some familys porch and they took him (saved him) to an animal reserve center nearby, Zeus is happy and healthy where he is. We all enjoy and are stunned by this miracle and beauty he has.

What I found so amazing is that
(1) his eyes look like magic. Honestly it is mesmerizing and so surreal.
(2) He survived because he was saved. He wasn't just put aside and left to die somewhere unable to fly and hunt. They had compassion for this poor creature and gave it a home, a future where he (Zeus) continues to awe people and inspire people. Like how I was inspired by this wonderful owl.

I hope to pass this message along to everyone who sees my art. Especially this one.
What is this world without love and compassion, no?

LOOKING BACK:
I look back at this and as time had passed I realize a few things:

  1. I seem to forget how I had perseverance to draw all details.

  2. I see how my drawing does not exactly look like the reference.

  3. I see how I could have made some details better.

  4. The art does not seem as refined as I used to see it.

When I first finished it I was amazed with myself modesty aside. I felt as if I had a LEVEL UP!

However, after some time I see errors and need for improvements.

  1. Always take work in progress pictures.
  2. There is always area for improvement.

I feel disappointed with how I did the eyes. In this picture, the gradation is soft and if you see the final picture of this, I inked the eyes reflection with sharp white strokes which made it less realistic.

Next time, I have new experiments to try on how to improve.
After more realism, and definitely careful with inking since it's permanent


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot | IPFS | Google Play
Sort:  

Wao!wonderful! and surprising

Thank you so much!!! :D

Your work is amazing, but what's more incredible is the way you seek to still improve your skills. Way to go @jacinta.sevilla! Even though this post only has one picture, we included it in today's Davao Daily Featured Post because of the details you included in your text and the fact that you wouldn't have been able to include more than 1 photo because it was posted through steepshot. =D

always room for improvement :D thanks po!

Details of both eyes is impressive

I love it, it is like it hold the universe in its gaze

he does <3 thank you
i do love him too ;)

beautiful artwork and very enigmatic owl.

Thank you so much
glad you like it :)

trying to improve :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10