The Color Theory in Practice: blending primary, secondary and Tertiary colors

in #art6 years ago

The Color Theory 🎨

The color theory is the logical use of colors. The color wheel is where we base color combinations, mixing and blending colors and contrasting dark and light hues.

Blending the primary colors


In this video, I try to explain the color wheel as simple as I can and I also made a color wheel just by using red, blue and yellow
(Exception for violet, I used pink and sky blue because red and blue looked black and too dark)

Some Images of Colors and blending

IMG_20171206_234600_799.jpg

Initially we think of the rainbow for colors. We need to take it a step higher and understand the basics. Colors are complex in trying to achieve the right hues.

IMG_20171206_235059_908.jpg

Layers are important in coloring. Light layers over each other, two colors one over the other and each time you layer, add more pressure to it and you will see them blend. Cross hatching is advisable!

IMG_20171206_235210_986.jpg

Be mindful of how dark you are coloring, the lighter your hands the smoother the result. Evenly spread the colors.

IMG_20171206_235355_151.jpg

Skin tone is ready made in your colored pencils set, but manually, you can achieve this by using the basic yellow, pink and yellowgreen. You may also use just red instead of pink but shade super lightly.

Read more about it!

8069f05cfef8b48e7881465c39b2b0cd--poster-designs-colour-wheel.jpg
Source

This is my favorite picture of color theory. I like how complete this image is in showing colors.

There are more if you google ofcourse but I hope my samples and tips help you easier. Stay tuned for my skin tone quick drawing video! I will post soon.
Remember:

  • Art basics is a must! (Elements of art, principles of design and color theory)

  • Using just primary colors is a great exercise to test your blending skills.

  • Use blue to darken shadows, it looks realistic too and adds beauty to the drawing.

  • Using premixed colors is good. But you must know how to manually achieve colors. Especially when emergencies call for it.
    ✓ when you have limited supply
    ✓ when you are using just a basic 12 color set
    For example:
    apple-banana_by_jyacini.jpg
    This banana and apple (exclude background) I drew only using primary colors) it's a DIFFICULT but commendable exercise

FULL STEEM AHEAD!✌️🎨

Enjoy the art!
Video_20171202135223818_by_vimady.gif

Sort:  

Awesome post! Very well explained and I agree entirely about basics!
What always amazes me is how expensive colour wheels are in the store!
I think I'm going to start making my students make their own - much more practical learning hands-on anyway - and way cheaper! 😁

really ???? theyre expensive?
They shouldnt be :(
thats a good idea :D
thanks for commenting :D

Agree entirely!
No idea why they're usually "exy" (as they say here in Aus heh)
Usually a minimum $25... For a piece of printed card with rainbow colours on it.... Lol

hahahah......
wow.....................................................
thats weird... lets make our own!

Yep exactly!
Heh so I ended up actually teaching a class on my birthday a couple weekends ago and mainly spent half the class getting everyone to think differently about colours - listing out all the positive and negative perceptions we have about each of the colours of the rainbow (as well as black and white).

Was so interesting seeing what everyone thinks about each colour and why we have negative feelings about some (like one almost hated orange, because she sat for months in a boring, soul-sapping office directly across from an orange wall!)

So I showed them how it doesn't have to hold those meanings for us if we don't want it to - we get to assign new meanings and feelings to those colours if we choose!

Thats a wonderful message :) yea we often connect meaning to colors and thats a real good idea u did!
Hope it was fun to teach :)

Thank youuuuuuuuuuuuuu!

Awesome tut

Nice post I follow you but follow me and Upvote my post please !

Beautiful ! I Love Colors, Painting is the best for me but my favorite color pencils are prisma colors... They apply so smoothly and blend very well

hi prisma is so expensive but these are good as well, mitsubishi japan
thank yoU! one day i can buy prisma

nice art work #thumbsup wish I was blessed with the skill of drawing

you can develop that!!!!!!!! :D thank you!

Yep 100% agree! I teach art classes to average laypersons who have no idea about art going into it!

yes!!!!!! perseverance can beat talent! Ive met people who were very inspired and determined to learn and they did!!!! :D

beaufiul..............................

Hi birjuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu :D thank youuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu aahbar :D

Awesome learned something new about colors :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98