My photography of My Artwork: 4 easy steps to make this hanging mobile

in #art7 years ago (edited)

While in art class 🎨

This is a hanging mobile. The bottles I used for this are my penicillin vials which I was injected with for 8 years for my heart condition.
Our Materials subject is about creating crafts and sculptures.
FB_IMG_1515294596481.jpg

I wanted to turn it to something good.


About the artwork

Since I was 13 I was diagnosed with mitral regurgitation. The valve on my heart is damaged by bacteria due to recurrent tonsillitis.

For eight years

Every 21 days I am injected with a bottle of penicilin intramuscularly.

The condition is:

  • Acquired
  • It is also known as rheumatic heart disease
  • It is caused by tonsillitis or frequent sore throat - the bacteria from your throat goes down to your heart and damages the valve. When your heart pumps blood, some of it backflows and not all of it gets oxygen
  • cannot be cured/reversed
  • Prognosis: if untreated it can lead to cardiomegaly and getting tired easily.
  • You need antibiotics in your blood stream to kill the streptococci living in your heart.
  • Treatment duration is 5-7 years
  • Injections are done intramuscularly (ass cheek injections with a big needle)
  • Pain from the injection lasts for one week feeling bruised and sore.
  • You can opt to take capsules instead but on a daily basis (which is more tiring)

I collected the vials when I could as a souvenir and I knew I could reuse the bottles somehow. When chance came I decided to make it a work of art.

🎨title: Spectrum shower
🎨Materials:
Small bottles/vials
Nylon
Water
Dye: red, yellow, blue
Glue gun
Glue stick
White glue
Butterfly ornaments
Little dolls
Cotton
Wooden ring

I like colorful things. I love the idea of hanging bottles, somehow I merged the idea of a wind chime, the color wheel (a wheel with the primary, secondary and tertiary colors) and a mobile for babies/kids. Somehow its relaxing and happy to look back at your childhood days and just be grateful how secure it feels to be young and problem free.

Other ornaments like the butterflies and dolls were the best available in the shop I went to. So by chance, it was a good choice. They fit in perfectly.


Process:

In four easy steps!
(1) fill each vial with water and put colors. Mix colors to achieve the colors of the color wheel and glue the lid to the bottle using white glue.

(2)tie the nylon to the wooden ring and connect it with the vials I used a glue gun to seal the knots and to prevent the bottles from slipping and also some glue stick on the wooden ring so the strings won't move.
Also make sure you tie all of the strings together and form a loop on top so you can hang it.

(3) glue the cotton to the wooden ring just put them all equally around.

(4) glue the butterflies and angels

*** Done! hang it!***


Photos of my craft

FB_IMG_1515294602035.jpg
So it looks like this when hanged. Actually the dolls are little fairies.

FB_IMG_1515294599229.jpg
I used three colors (primary colors) to mix these:
Red
Red orange
Orange
Yellow orange
Yellow
Yellow green
Green
Blue green
Blue
Blue violet
Violet
Red violet

FB_IMG_1515294596481.jpg

I was proud seeing it hang. And it just reminds me of positivity. Colorful and vibrance. Just peaceful and hopeful.

I also thought of this as a wind chime but making it sound was pretty hard. Regardless, I still think it looks peaceful.

Then, some pics up close
FB_IMG_1515294593768.jpg

FB_IMG_1515294590909.jpg

FB_IMG_1515294587763.jpg
Where to place the dolls and butterflies is up to you. And you can make use of other ornaments like flowers.

I used butterflies to give a more aerial effect since there are

  • Clouds
  • Winged fairies
  • Butterflies

FB_IMG_1515294577177.jpg

It's been three years since I stopped medication. I won't be fully cured but at least it didn't get worse and I'm glad I was able to create something positive out of this negative experience.


Tip: if you have tonsillitis a lot, sore throat etc. Please cure it immediately. Having a heart condition is very difficult. Health is the greatest wealth.

Anyways, enjoy the art and if you can recycle materials and make some art! Be creative and enjoy!

📸😅
I used a digital camera for this one.
I don't remember the specs since it wasn't my camera.
Im so sorry!


THANK YOU FOR STOPPING BY
Long live art!
Have you voted for your witnesses? ☝️😱
@steemgigs
@blocktrades
@cloh76
@precise
🌟Follow and watchout for these awesome people for contests

@anomadsoul
@topkpop
@sirsensei
@surpassinggoogle
@kennik
@juliank
@juliakponsford
@kneelyrac
@maverickinvictus

♥️Proud member of♥️
#steemph
#artguildph
#steemitachievers
#steemitbloggers
#untalented
#gratefulvibes

Also check out the tag:
#steem-cartoon

That's all folks!
Steemit rules!!!

XOXO,
@jacinta.sevilla
Collage 2018-01-12 15_18_01.jpg
received_10214586986052169.jpeg
DQmU6EHRF2Pj2uHqT9hQtTHPVgmyBWgKoNeoPGWNB7Zo7Pj.pngSteemit Bloggers Discord BANNER NEW.jpg

Sort:  

How creative, and a great way to recycle. Thanks for sharing

C'est tellement design !
J'adore...

Wow! @jacinta.sevilla, nice work of art there.. Its awesome nd really creative.. Im in love with already.. Nd sory abt wat u went through in your young age

Thanks for your support. Glad you like my artwork.

You didn't mention who took you every 21 days to the hospital for your injections. Good old papa bear ho ho ho. Nice post. (Now I know why you always asked for the vials).

:D yes hahahha
ok ill edit it! :D
love u pa :D <3

Thats such a great way to interprete illness in a creative way - it can be so hard to do, but rewarding!! I love the outcome:)

i like that
interpreting illness in a creative way, an artistic way.
I found it hard to express that so I just skipped it

Thank you so much :)

I love how you can turn something bad into something good and beautiful. Especially love the touch of fantasy with the clouds and butterflies.

Thank you very much!
Just making the most out of a bad situation.
Yes, a touch of magic to it. Hehe ✨😹

What a great post! I really enjoyed your art piece. I have a question about that medical condition. What tests or exams did you do to determined it was that specifically? I was diagnosed with that before, but a second opinion said no. Now I'm more concerned than I was before.

Just an ECG. 2D echo. Your cardiologist will confirm
Probably u dont have it if u dont feel anything.
Mine was, my symptoms, I just tried to run once and I took just 3 steps of running and I felt shortness of breath, palpitations and sweating and felt cold. Youll really know of theres something wrong.

Thanks for your comment.

Very interesting! Well, thanks for being so open. I went back and saw your art a couple of times. I truly enjoy it. I bet a full white background would set it just right.

We like it, it looks great
If my wife sees this she sure will want to do one of these.

Nice photo! Todaraba!
Sure id be happy to see her own version of this.

I think it will take a little more time :)

yes its totally fine

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62460.04
ETH 2435.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65