Sketching the Greyjoys from Season 6, Game of Thrones

in #art8 years ago

Hey steemit :) I want to show you guys what I'm up to now.
I've recently decided to do more traditional art work (as in, by hand, rather than on the computer), and someone pointed out how artistically gloomy this particular scene in the episode was (I forget which ep, its towards the end of the season. No spoilers tho ;) ), so I decided to make a pencil sketch out of it. Maybe I'll try my hand at painting it later.

Here's one of the screen caps I took:

I'm not going to copy one screen cap exactly as it is; I'll be combining different elements from diff screen caps ( a few seconds make a lot of difference, hah!) and adjusting things for them to make sense artistically IMO.

Here's a gif of the beginning of the drawing, where I start out with angles and shapes before I start the process of human-ization:

I later had to completely erase Asha/Yara and move her closer to Theon. As an artist, one must learn to not cry when completely erasing hard work. lmao

Here's how it looks as of a few minutes ago! Beginning work on the background and arranging the other characters.

And here's a little selfie for scale ;)

Thanks for checking it out :) Stay tuned for more! And feel free to ask me anything~

#art
#gameofthrones

Sort:  

I hate Theon Greyjoy. Great job though.

Does seeing him utterly miserable help, or is that part of why you hate him? (non-sarcastic, just casual curiosity! xD) But thank you!

"gaze into the abyss, and the abyss stares back at you"

Nicely done. :) Personally, I'd love it if you drew them as you imagine, rather than likenesses of the actors cast to play those parts. Something to consider, maybe.

Thank you :) I thought of that while reading the books, and maybe one day I will! My skills with drawing from imagination need some levelling up first.

Very impressive!

Thank you :)

Very nice! I love seeing the WiP. I'm actually drawing traditionally for the first time in a long while and I'm rediscovering the texture and feel of paper, and loving it! Keep up the great work. I'm happy to see art and illustration growing here on Steemit.

Thank you :) May the art on steemit thrive! And yeah, I've been mainly teaching myself digital the last 3 years, but also recently came back to traditional. Completely agree, you cant beat the texture of pencil on paper and the more natural line work. Good luck on your work :)

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 7.5 and reading ease of 77%. This puts the writing level on par with Tom Clancy and F. Scott Fitzgerald.

My literature-nerd self is pleased with this

The real fault is to have faults and not amend them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58080.30
ETH 3102.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40