Digital Painting: Rapunzel, Adding to her Gallery

in #art8 years ago (edited)

Okay steemers, here we goooo. This is a painting I finished this past week :)

I've was into the Rapunzel myth on and off as a kid, and when I finally watched Tangled years after it came out, I LAAVED IT. Actually, I didn't love it the first viewing, LOL, but by the 2nd, 3rd, 4th viewing... yeah. ;)


But this new painting is actually a "revisit" of one of my first digital paintings from two and a half years ago. In defense of my past self that started doing digital art: although I'd been making art for years, I hadn't drawn people in a serious way for maybe 3 years due to college art shenanigans (too busy wearing beards and pretending to stalk myself for a musical film, FML.) So not only was I learning a totally new medium (digital art/Photoshop), I was also rusty as hell when it came to drawing.


But anyway! Here's a cheesy graphic showing 2 and 1/2 years level up!


I've got one more image for y'all! My current computer is too weak sauce to record screen capture videos (but I'm upgrading to a new one soooon...so stay tuned on that front). I couldn't record the active process of making this painting, but I did make this image so you can see how it developed over time!


I also wasn't recording my hours of work properly until a third of the way through this thing, so my ballpark guess would be 35 - 40 hours. Those were spaced out over a year as work issues, other paintings, and general anxiety distracted me often, heh! I've since developed healthier work habits, so maybe my paintings won't take years to finish from now on.... maybe ;)


That's all folks! Feel free to ask any questions :) Thanks!

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54657.34
ETH 2331.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14