Putting yourself out there as an artist.

in #art7 years ago

On Facebook there are alot of artist pages I follow or art groups. And the most common question I see is "why is my art not selling?" Or "how do I broaden who sees my artwork?" Well this little jont is about that entire subject.

 First thing is first. Why art doesn't sell. It could be a number of reasons. The subject down to how well it's executed. Some people have the knack and can bust a painting out in hours or days. As where me it takes months even years to finish a piece. Only because I refuse to post something and it to be "finished" in my own eyes. If you yourself are not fully happy with the end product. Most likely another will have the same feeling in it especially if you speak the same about it as you feel about it. Some of my artwork never sells. And alot of it has to do with how well I can express myself verbally about the specific piece. Another reason art may not sell is because how often do people see your art work. How often do you display it at a local gallery or get into your local art community and do an art Walk or do a local paint class at a place like RSVPaint. Which is something in the local area of Joplin Missouri where people byob or wine and enjoy an evening with you learning how to paint a simple image. Working in your community will get people excite about helping supporting your art. And it allows them to see it more often. When someone sees something they like only one time and never see the artist again active in the community then it makes it hard to even explain the piece or your technique or remember your name for that matter. So put yourself out there and make sure your interacting with people about your art. And this isn't full proof. If these things to help aid you in gaining sales or at least interest in your work. Then take a little more time and practice your style and techniques. Or look into your local area subject matter that people tend to buy. But also I feel that artwork from the heart is more worth it to purchase. I know I've spent a well amount of money on a piece because I could "feel" it internally that I connected with the artist and his emotions and in turn purchased the piece. 

 And for the hard part. Becoming serious about your art work. I am just a self taught artist so this comes from that scenario. School systems have exhibits and galleries dedicated to students and events dedicated to teaching them how to promote themselves and how to become a LLC. It does not cost much to become your own brand. LLC makes your art your business. But also comes with learning how to file a 1099 at the end of the year for your income of your business.  But this also helps you in insuring or appraising any of your artworks. AND most importantly this gives you the ability to trademark and keep your rights to your works. As for art work is stolen so often these days! I've had my images printed and sold before I learned about all of this. And it was heart breaking to argue with a kid at music festival over the images he had a stack of and that it was my art and to hand it over. When I had the original piece with me. Rather frustrating. Also along with branding and becoming your own business of artistry. You can then create a portfolio of your work. And a type of resume explaining your background of art. And area of studies even if self taught it is good to know all the book titles and authors you have learned from. Along with any reference to studies you have done. Explaining your passions,visions, and goals in the artist world. Projects you have worked with and if you have worked with your city with any type of beautiful the city projects. Also give a small bio about yourself your back ground and roots as to when and where you found art to be your calling. With this resume/portfolio you will also want to draw up a contract for any live artwork you plan to perform. Include what your needs are as an artist. (Example) room and boarding, food, travel expenses, and entry fee. Plus any accommodations you might need (lighting, canopy,etc.) And with all of that you will be able to apply to some large events to do live art at like lightning in a bottle or electric Forest. But also doing videos while applying to large events as such will help so the e.c. can see how you work how fast your work goes  and just see you in action.

I highly advise anyone wanting to do live art at large events to please gain a contract and have it notorized so it is a legal and binding document. Alot of events can and have stiffed artists because their form of payment will be if they sell their art at the event. But that doesn't mean you actually will sell the art. And if they want you on the line up then they need to view you as an equal to all the other arts (music,circus,fire,etc.)

 So with all of that being said I hope this was a little helper with any artist feeling a little lost as to why things are working out the way they need them to. Or just don't know how to go about starting to do live art or getting involved in your city arts council! I hope this also brings anyone to the table with ideas I may have not thought of and or can collaborate into the realm of what the subject of this post is about! Thank you for your time!
Sort:  

My post looks funny on my screen let me know if it's hard to read on your end too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61875.77
ETH 2403.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64