Sort:  

I just finished posting this week’s Free Art Tuesday post. Once I started creating and hiding free art around town, I just couldn’t stop! I’m hoping it catches on. :)

K, I'll go over and look at it. Idk if you're familiar with the concept, but this sort of thing fits in with the idea of "gift economy". Short version definition is: spreading of love, creativity, work, craft, anything - simply to do so - as a gift. Converse to how we traditionally trade and sell things for the self-interested purpose of profit. The purpose of trade in a gift economy is outwardly focused. Can be seen as analogous to the giving maternalistic spirit of mothering. I think there's definitely open room for this sort of thing in communities. I'd love to see more of it.

I’ll have to look more into gift economy. It sounds like something right up my alley! If more people knew the how much they would recieve, in terms of satisfaction and joy, for giving with no expectation of recieving, everyone would be giving all the time! I especially love leaving something somewhere and not writing my name on it. When I walk away, I know that no one will ever know that I left it there, and I probably won’t ever know who recieved it, but knowing it may have made someone smile, or improved their day makes me so happy! I’m excited about the participation in the #freearttuesday tag so far. In the last 2 weeks, 5 people have posted under the tag. I know that’s not a lot, but it’s a start, and I wasn’t sure anyone would be interested at all. But I know that if there’s one community that is generous and active enough to take free art to the next level, it’s this one!!!

You hit the nail on the head before I even got to it. It's a no brainer, isn't it? Giving creates abundance, that's the point. There's no end to it when everyone participates. The problem is that we don't (myself included). I want to participate more and your post reminded me of that. I wish I had a more creative mind and more to give. I'm sure I can think up some things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60166.58
ETH 2964.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79