Taking Joy in the Misery which is Snow in April.

in #art6 years ago

If you are friends with any Steemians living in the upper Midwest, you probably have been inundated with posts about snowplowing, shoveling, wiping snow off cars, getting your car stuck in the snow, wishing you lived in a warmer climate, how much stuff they've gotten done today because they literally can't leave their house....that kinda stuff.

All good stuff, don't get me wrong. But I thought I would shine a different light on Mother Earths most recent snow dump, along with extremely high winds. She can be a bitch, 15 inches of snow in April being no exception, but she brings beauty as well.

Take for example the snow drifts on my property...I would call them natures art.

zzzzza.jpg

If anyone with skill can edit out my neighbors house and the fence, and replace it with a sky background, this drift could pass as a mountain range. I love how the fence forces the snow to accumulate there. If you notice to the left and right of the drift, you can see grass.

zzzzzzza.jpg

On the side of the fence. I really wanted to take little action figures and place them around to make a life-sized-like diorama. I would have put a mountain climber on this one.

()

My wife's old VW Jetta that got rear ended made for a really cool drift off the top of the trunk.

zzzz.jpg

Not only the back of the car, but the whole drivers side was caked on.

z1111.jpg

Before snow blowing I had a little fun with a golf ball I found in my garage.

golf ball gif.gif

Miraculously, it landed logo up, just perfect.

zzz.jpg

Nature sure does make some beautiful stuff, even when it's nasty. My snow blower mound was finger painting compared to Natures Mona Lisa's. But the job got done.

zzzzzzzzzzzz.jpg

As beautiful as it all was, I hope I have hung up my shovel for good this winter. Steem on friends.

Sort:  

A beautiful take on the wonders of Mother Nature. At this point, after hours of shoveling what felt like concrete, she can go fuc....um, I'll keep it positive and say she can go away for awhile ;)

Hahaha, I was tempted to throw something along those lines in there, but remembered it was supposed to be a positive post about natures beauty. If she does this again to us in the next few days, I'll be sure to make a post strictly run on expletives.

Nice pictures, but still...flowers in bloom make for much nicer pictures..and weather... :)

Thanks! And I won't argue with you on either of your points. I'm definitely ready for a beautiful northern summer.

15 inches? I had every bit of two feet in St Louis Park!

Yeah, I had some drifts that were over that, but on the level it was about 15 inches. I know Maple Grove got over 2 feet too. Happy it's all gone now :)

snow wow very much, until the blanket of existing items

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01